1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Thinking of buying 2012-2015 Plug in Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by utsug, Jul 23, 2018.

1. utsug

utsug Active Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Hello,
    Newbie here. I want to get more information about Prius plug in. I am in need of a car since my 2011 Honda Fit got totalled about a week ago. I am looking at 2012-2015 model or either the Plug-in or regular hybrid.

My daily commute (Palmdale-SFV) is 100 miles roundtrip with elevation gain of 2500 ft. My previous Fit averaged 34 mpg. I don't have charging station at work.
    With my daily 100 miles commute;
    1. Is the Plug-in or regular Prius will work for me?
    2. If buying a used one, which year is reliable?
    3. Is it okay to buy Prius with more than 100k miles?

Thank you.

PlugmeInplz and KevinPluggedIn like this.
  2. QuantumFireball

QuantumFireball Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    The Plug-in will only give an all-electric range of around 9-12 miles on a full charge, and EV mode only works at speeds under 60 MPH - so you're not going benefit much from it on a commute like that.

KevinPluggedIn likes this.
  3. markabele

markabele owner of PiP, then Leaf, then Model 3

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    N/A
    You might be best with a used Volt. If you are definitely set on a Prius, just buy whichever one is cheapest. Some people report seeing PiP's cheaper. But it won't save you much with its tiny battery.

Rmay635703 likes this.
  4. Rmay635703

Rmay635703 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Chevy Volt
    Model:
    N/A
    For folks that live in warmer areas, that can charge on both ends and have distinct slow and fast segments of their commute the Volt is king. If you rarely/ never drive on extremely long vacations with the car your fuel use and overall cost will be lower.