1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Thoughts on Purchasing a 2007 Prius Please

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by CPost, Oct 27, 2017.

1. CPost

CPost Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Hey Guys,

I am a Prius noob. I found a 2007 Prius with 56,000 miles for $6,000. I'm taking it to the dealer to get inspected tomorrow. I'm not sure if I should buy this based on the unknown life of the battery given the low miles. I don't want to buy this then have to drop another $3k for a new battery. I know its unpredictable when the battery can fail but it seems they have a higher probability on cars that are seldom driven. I test drove it last night and noticed this sign on the dash: (((i))). I'm not sure what that means. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Chris

2. ericbecky

ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I am very leery of low mileage Prius.
    There is a chance it has been sitting for long periods of time.

The battery is already 10 years old.
    There is a high likelihood that you will have to replace the battery in the next few years.

But then again, that'd mean you have a $9,000 car, not a $6,000 car. You could look around and see what else is available for $9,000.

Aaron Vitolins and kenoarto like this.
  3. CPost

CPost Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Ok, thanks Eric for the advice.

It has already been sitting for a month at the current owner's residence. She is an 81 year old woman who doesn't leave the house. She received it in a will from a professor she worked for when he passed away.

4. MilkyWay

MilkyWay Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    That is ultra low mileage. In general, $6000 is a high price for a used gen 2 Prius, but this one only has 50K miles. Almost unheard of.