1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Tips to prepare for a very long drive

Discussion in 'Prius v Main Forum' started by deegowd, May 23, 2013.

1. deegowd

deegowd New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I am a new driver and have never driven more than 400 miles one way before. Next week I'm planning to drive from SF Bay area to Austin, TX (>1,700 miles over 2 days). Is there anything I should do differently to prepare for the long drive? I will have some cargo since I am relocating, but just a couple of big suitcases.

2. FriarNurgle

FriarNurgle Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Just check tire pressure and fluids before you go. Don't forget to stop often to stretch your legs (we stop every two hours, helps keep kids from getting too cranky). Google some out interesting places to stop along the way. There are some wacky things out there that are worth adding a a few mines and minutes to your trip that are great photo ops that you will remember forever.

3. labell

labell Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Your ride will be oh so much more comfortable than when I made a cross country trip in my Geo Metro--which by the way got 50 mpg with its regular gasoline engine. That was many vehicles ago, and along the way I have owned two Audi's. They have a built in timer that flashes at you every two hours. That is how important the Germans take safety. You may not feel like you need a rest that often, but you will be less tired in the long run if you take them anyway, if only to walk a few times around the car and breathe some fresh air.

4. deegowd

deegowd New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Thanks FrairNurgle and labell. I am scheduling an appointment with the dealer to check the fluids and tires.

5. 2013-Prius v

2013-Prius v 2013 Prius v 5

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon