1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Tires for 2013 Prius 2

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by PriusTennesseePrius, Nov 17, 2017.

1. PriusTennesseePrius

PriusTennesseePrius Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi and thank you in advance! Im new to Prius Chat. I need to replace my tires and would like to know your suggestions. How do the Mich Energy Savers handle? Heard or tried the new Michelin Cross Climates? I need something safe that is a good balance between handling and LRR/great mileage. Thanks

Also, what Rev's per mile should I aim to find in a tire?

I have tried the following:

Michelin Premier A/S. Really mushy ride, quiet on the road, terrible gas mileage. Not great on the handling. Would not buy again. Mileage dropped to 37-38 mpg and I am a smooth driver!

Continental Control Contact. Terrible handling, smooth ride. Would not buy again.

Yokohama YK740's Great handling tire! However, not sure they are getting good gas mileage. Considering this one again. It is a Discount Tire exclusive.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

i just put the michelin e/s on mine a year ago. they aren't cheap, but i think well worth it due to the quietness.
    my mpg's didn't noticeably change. handling seems fine, but i drive like a pussycat.

3. BZzap!

BZzap! Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two