Toggle the INFO screens from the wheel button?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by GT, May 19, 2004.

  1. tag

    tag Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    2,526
    18
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Thanks for the link, Rick. Here's my info:

    Display: 14-88-07-15
    TAB: 00-13-00-00
    G/W: 01-20-00-EM
    TRC: 00-15-00-EM
    Audio: 01-01-04
    Panel: 00-00-00
     
  2. tag

    tag Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    2,526
    18
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Mine is also unlit. I presume it's unlit because we don't have one..................yet! :lol:
     
  3. aile

    aile New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    35
    0
    0
    Location:
    Attleboro, MA
    I got my #9 in April and the info button does not toggle but the MPG does reset. I'll try check the firmware tonight
     
  4. ardnhe

    ardnhe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    22
    0
    0
    Got my Prius last week with a manufacture date of 04/04. The info button on the wheel toggles the Energy and Consumption screens. That button nor the Info button on the display toggles to last sceen viewed.
     
  5. aaron-aggie

    aaron-aggie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    21
    2
    0
    No Toggle and MPG Reset

    Build Date 02/04

    Map DVD : Denso 54000 V 03.10.00

    Display 14-88-07-92
    TAB 00-13-00-00
    G/W 01-15-00-EM
    TRC 00-15-00-EM
    Audio 01-01-04
    Panel 00-00-00
     
  6. GT

    GT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    43
    0
    0
    Location:
    Eden Prairie, MN
    No Toggle
    No MPG Reset
    Built 01/04
    Display 14-88-07-92
    TAB 00-13-00-00
    G/W 01-15-00-EM
    TRC 00-15-00-EM
    Audio 01-01-04
    Panel 00-00-00
     
  7. Brian

    Brian Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    480
    0
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Mine was built 02/04 also. I really hope there is a way to update it the software for the toggleing. :D
     
  8. egs

    egs Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    25
    0
    0
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    My #9 that I picked up May 3rd DOES toggle between Energy/Consumption. Build date is 03/04.
     
  9. hunny04

    hunny04 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    0
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Both!

    I got my #9 in January and often thought "Gee, it would be nice if the Info button toggled you between the Energy and Cosumption screens!" but it didn't work that way. Then, last month, my LED display crapped out and, after I got it back with a new display unit, lo and behold, it toggles! Cool!
     
  10. aile

    aile New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    35
    0
    0
    Location:
    Attleboro, MA
    No toggle but MPG does reset

    display 14-88-07-92
    tab 00-13-00-00
    g/w 01-15-00-em
    trc 00-15-00em
    audio 01-01-04
    panel 00-00-00
     
  11. Brian

    Brian Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    480
    0
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Is there a way to have this option the newer models have, upgraded on older ones?
     
  12. efusco

    efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    19,886
    1,160
    9
    Location:
    Nixa, MO
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Heather/Hunny,
    Is there ANY way you could find your way to ask your service person who actually did your fix about this? I think there are a LOT of us that would love to modify that switch to toggle, you've just confirmed that it can be done. And, AFAIK, you're the first person ever to confirm that a car without can be converted, but we need to know what's involved. If you had to have an entire ECU replaced to fix your LED then that's not likely to happen for most of us. But, if it was a mere software/minor harware issue we wanna know how/what is involved.

    Anyway, I know I, for one, would love to know what you can learn.
     
  13. Brian

    Brian Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    480
    0
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I would too, that is a great thing to have. Hopefully Hunny04 can find out.
     
  14. HTMLSpinnr

    HTMLSpinnr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    5,338
    909
    251
    Location:
    Surprise, AZ (Phoenix)
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    While it may be a simple fimrware upgrade on the LCD display itself, based on SSC-40A/40D experience, I doubt most dealers would know how to do it if you waltzed in and asked :-/
     
  15. woemcats

    woemcats New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    75
    0
    0
    Location:
    Northern Illinois
    Mine toggles, but doesn't do the MPG reset. Odd.
     
  16. Don-RI

    Don-RI Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    153
    1
    0
    Location:
    Cumberland, RI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Just wondering if there is any new information on how to either set the screen options or to upgrade software to enable toggling the steering wheel INFO button to switch between ENERGY and CONSUMPTION.

    I got my 40D update done, but still no toggle.

    Thanks.
     
  17. victor

    victor New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    414
    2
    0
    Location:
    Gilching Bavaria Germany, & Drapanos, Crete, G
    I just had a though. There are 32 (or there about) customer option settings that your dealer can set. Ive never seen a full list, but I wonder if the toggle is one of these?
     
  18. Don-RI

    Don-RI Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    153
    1
    0
    Location:
    Cumberland, RI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Good thought...

    I wonder if a dealer watching the thread can confirm or help on this toggle issue? Maybe even provide some sort of service code or part or page number that we can pass along to our own dealer to ask them to do it for us?

    If this is the case, I'm going to need all the help I can get with "my" dealer. For instance, he still insists there are no such things as actual Prius splash guards because he can't find the stock number in his book.

    This apparently has a solution if some of us can toggle, and others can't. I even wrote to corporate customer technical support, but no answer back.
     
  19. efusco

    efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    19,886
    1,160
    9
    Location:
    Nixa, MO
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Not that easy, unfortunately. On the YGs a while back some Japanese owners checked into this and it's not that simple to correct and reportedly will not be offered as an upgrade in the models not so equipt.
     
  20. mikepaul

    mikepaul Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    1,763
    6
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Did they track down the implementer of this feature, so we'd know that if XXX broke it could be replaced with a unit that did what we wanted?

    Computers can be reprogrammed, but since we read reports of fried ones just doing simple fixes I think Toyota would be afraid to start authorizing 'cosmetic' reflashing...
     
Loading...