1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Too many rectangles, not enough gas.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Nor.Prius, Jan 10, 2017.

1. Nor.Prius

Nor.Prius Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello!

I am new to owning a Prius since buying a 2004 Prius in October of 2016, and now that I've filled it up a few times, I have some questions regarding fuel economy, and general maintenance, and possible upgrades. So, let's look at the data I've collected. (Data is attached as image.) For reference I live in southern New Mexico, the climate is temperate to warm, and generally the roads are fairly flat.

1) I guess what I'm wondering is are the numbers I'm seeing reasonable for the car as it is?

2) Except for two gas fill ups (Oct 24th, 2016 & Nov 4th, 2016) I've filled up each time the gas gauge starts flashing and saying low fuel. Seems to sit at about 7 and a half gallons. Is there a way to fix this considering (to my understanding) the fuel tank is supposedly larger?

3) Is there a definitive guide to improving miles per gallon?

4) The battery has never been reconditioned or anything in the lifetime. Might this effect fuel efficiency, despite the lack of full out failure of the battery, and what symptoms should I be looking for to determine that the battery may be beginning to fail?

5) The last oil change was performed by jiffy-lube around the late 137,000 mile mark. I was planning on doing an oil change at about 142,000 miles. What oil should I use, and how long can I expect it to last?

6) Are there any maintenance things I should be aware of?

7) I have a friend with a 2009, and it looks like his dashboard computer has a newer firmware version or UI skin. Is there a way to hack this onto my 2004?