took out wire harness. cleaned corrosion. are wires back correctly?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Glenn Rabeaux, Feb 2, 2020.

  1. Glenn Rabeaux

    Glenn Rabeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    9
    6
    0
    Location:
    lafayette louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    title states it. i took out wire harnesses recently to clean corrosion off. now i have triangle after what i believe is putting wire in wrong place and now having it back correctly? do i need to let anything reset or am i able to clear the code for the red triangle from the first wire crossing? any help is greatly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    2,686
    2,899
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Welcome to PriusChat!!

    What code(s) did you get when you scanned the ECUs?

    Have you put the orange safety disconnect back in place properly?
     
  3. DONNA TALBOT

    DONNA TALBOT New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Lafayette, LA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I know the breaker switch is in place and latched. I havent ran for codes yet. Not sure i have what one needs for that...
     
  4. Glenn Rabeaux

    Glenn Rabeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    9
    6
    0
    Location:
    lafayette louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    i know the breaker switch is in place and latched. i havent ran for codes yet. not sure i have what one needs for that?...
     
  5. hotelprisoner

    hotelprisoner Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    74
    68
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Technology
    On the ECU, forward side, above the orange connector, there is a white connector that doesn’t look pushed into the ECU all the way. I could be wrong, but it appears to be sticking out a little and I can’t recall what my Gen 2 used to look like.


    iPhone ?
     
  6. Glenn Rabeaux

    Glenn Rabeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    9
    6
    0
    Location:
    lafayette louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    no its in. its a clipped connection. so either in or not. the wires i crossed were the two smaller orange wires coming off the wire harness towards the front side. im just worried that i shorted something out. i never heard or smelled anything and i know what fried ozone smells like. so i feel it may be a code that i need techstream to clear or at the very least read it.
     
  7. Glenn Rabeaux

    Glenn Rabeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    9
    6
    0
    Location:
    lafayette louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    update: purchased mini vci cable to connect to laptop. should be here wednesday. will update more then.
     
    SFO likes this.
  8. Glenn Rabeaux

    Glenn Rabeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    9
    6
    0
    Location:
    lafayette louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    ok so... i tried installing a download copy of ver.14. and then realized i needed disc from mvci. deleted ver.14 copy, installed ver.13 from mvci disc. now it wont connect to prius. do i need to delete some drivers from the ver.14? i sort of read others having a similar problem. tried starting laptop with mvci connected also. using win8 64bit. seems it may be drivers then?.... thanks in advance.
     
  9. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    2,686
    2,899
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You had v14 connecting/working on the prius, and then chose to downgrade to v13, and now it wont connect again?

    Backing up a few steps, make sure you have bolted/grounded the HV battery case to the vehicle, else it will throw a DTC..
     
  10. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    2,951
    3,471
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Looking at your photo, I initially thought the latch appears to be a bit high from where it should be. Then after looking at it 10 more times, lol, my eyes are getting blurry and I think it probably is ok. Just in case, many people miss step 3 of this:

    Safety Disconnect Installation Procedure.jpg
     
    #10 TMR-JWAP, Feb 7, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2020
  11. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    2,951
    3,471
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    When you say you switched 2 orange wires, you mean the two heavy gauge cables? One long one that goes to the (-) terminal on the farthest module and the short one that goes to the (+) terminal on the nearest module? Then the other ends connect to the main relays?

    Did you try to put the car in ready mode while they were reversed?
    If so, you may have popped the 125 amp (?) fuse that's inside the safety disconnect.

    If you never tried to start the car, then it shouldn't have caused a problem. As long as the main relays never tried to close, it's still an open circuit and no HV is applied to the rest of the car.
     
  12. Glenn Rabeaux

    Glenn Rabeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    9
    6
    0
    Location:
    lafayette louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    i believe TMR-JWAP that we checked the safety disconnect for continuity voltage to best of my understanding. it appeared to have it. is there some kind of other thing i may be missing to it? i did try to start it with the cables crossed. also SFO i acquired a copy of ver14 BEFORE i got my mvci cable and disc to install ver13. i uninstalled ver14 then installed ver13. i realized after that ver13 came on disc with mvci. all of this BEFORE i hooked it up to my prius.
     
  13. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    2,686
    2,899
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just to clarify, you've never been able to connect to the mini-vci cable or to the vehicle, with any version of techstream?
     
  14. George W

    George W Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    806
    428
    1
    Location:
    San Antonio
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    There is no top connecting bracket over the 2 large orange cables. Supposedly the absence of that bracket can cause error code.
     
  15. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    2,951
    3,471
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I apologize for not looking more closely at your photos. You have the small white wire connected incorrectly. It needs to go on the output side of the relay, not the input side. That white component is a current limiting resistor to allow the initial "power-up", while preventing an initial large current rush. The orange wire going from the stud to the quick connect is the "power" going to one side of the small relay. The white wire leaving the small relay goes through the resistor, then to the output side of that main relay. The small relay closes first, connecting the orange wire to the white wire, to energize the HV system while the resistor limits current flow, and then the main relay closes. The small relay then opens to take the resistor out of the circuit. At that point, all HV power is being supplied via the main relays.

    Wired wrong.jpg
     
    #15 TMR-JWAP, Feb 8, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2020
  16. Glenn Rabeaux

    Glenn Rabeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    9
    6
    0
    Location:
    lafayette louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    correct SFO. i installed them [each seperately] before i was able to get to my car. i dl'ed a ver14 copy, then got mvci disc, uninstalled ver14 and put the ver13 that was on the included disc. THEN got to my prius and tried to connect. lets me click on "connect to vehicle" but does nothing in return. TMR-JWAP, not a single worry. the fact all of you are taking this time to aid is insane to me. doing a BIG justice with this site. would like to try to get/know that the techstream program is operational before i head out to my car to switch the white wire on terminals is all. unless it would clear the code internally after i switch it to opposite terminal and i wouldnt need techstream.... but i highly doubt that at this point.
     
  17. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    2,951
    3,471
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Odds are pretty good that moving the wire to the correct position will allow the car to function, as long as there are no other issues.
     
    Glenn Rabeaux and George W like this.
  18. Glenn Rabeaux

    Glenn Rabeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    9
    6
    0
    Location:
    lafayette louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    heard that. gonna dress and head over to my car. update should be within the next hour or two. and seriously...again... i CAN NOT thank you guys or show gratitude enough, really. ✊
     
    George W likes this.
  19. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    2,951
    3,471
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    You could disconnect the 12v battery, remove the safety disconnect from the HV battery, swap the wire to the correct position and then connect everything back together. remember all 3 steps of the safety disconnect installation. That should clear all the codes from the ecu memories.

    When you go to start the car, the first time you press the power button, you'll have some dash alarms. You'll need to press the power button one more time (2x total with foot on brake) to clear the dash lights. Then the car should go ready. This is normal for any time 12v power is removed and then reconnected.
     
    SFO, Raytheeagle and George W like this.
  20. Glenn Rabeaux

    Glenn Rabeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    9
    6
    0
    Location:
    lafayette louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    TMR-JWAP ....i dont know how to thank you enough. that was exactly it. switched it over. put orange disconnect back, grounded everything and put 12v back on. used my parents obd to clear just in case. STARTED. RIGHT. BACK. UP. i didnt even know what to do at first. my cars been out for a month now. drove around for 25 miles and everything seemed to run just fine. no sputters or loss of power, etc... yall are doing gods work here. keep up the good fight. THANK YALL SO MUCH ONCE AGAIN, cannot stress enough!!
     
Loading...