Torque Pro app ?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by 44Zoomer, Aug 10, 2017.

  1. 44Zoomer

    44Zoomer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    28
    8
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Ok just got the app and the obd 2. Can someone point me to the direction to the track battery location on the app?
     
  2. MickyMatter

    MickyMatter Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    45
    24
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    You have to download additional (custom) PIDs and copy them into the hidden folder .torque\extendedpids. For seeing this folder, you'll need a file manager, which is able to show hidden files/folders like "ES Explorer" (hidden files must be activated in the options).
    Then, the app will show much more PIDs/channels, like voltage, current, resistance of the individual cells or (dis-)charging-current or -power and so on.
    For the download look for "USBSeawolf2000 Gen2 Prius". (I've got only the file with metric values.)

    SM-G900F ?
     
  3. 44Zoomer

    44Zoomer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    28
    8
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    OMG.....Ok..Not what I thought. Thank you very much.
     
  4. MickyMatter

    MickyMatter Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    45
    24
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I didn't wanted to shock you! If you need more detailed help, let me know!

    SM-G900F ?
     
  5. 44Zoomer

    44Zoomer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    28
    8
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Thank you............ I'm more familiar with apple electronics. Will play and learn this android tablet.
    Will post progress. Thanks for your help
     
  6. 44Zoomer

    44Zoomer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    28
    8
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Ok I need helpppp. I have the USBSeawolf2000 Gen2 Prius unzipped on a sd card. I have es explorer, I have the hidden file unchecked.
    Now how do I import into the hidden folder .torque\extendedpids and where do I look for torque\extendedpids?
    Any Links?
     
  7. davecook89t

    davecook89t Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    74
    26
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Using the ES File Explorer, you should see a folder called ".torque" on your device's main storage drive. You will need to create a subfolder called "extendedpids" under ".torque". You will then need to copy the PID files from your sd card to this subfolder. After doing this, when you open Torque Pro and select the gear icon at the lower left, you select "Settings". You should then see a menu item called "Manage extra PIDs/Sensors", select that. From the next screen, you need to select the standard menu icon that should be a part of any Android app. (On my phone it appears as 3 parallel lines). That should bring up a menu item called "Add predefined set". From there you should be able to select your vehicle, "Prius Gen 2". After making that selection, the program should find the new PIDs that you have copied into the subfolder "extendedpids".

    I hope this helps.
     
  8. 44Zoomer

    44Zoomer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    28
    8
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Thank you......I added the predefined set. After I go to realtime information to bring it up?
     
  9. davecook89t

    davecook89t Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    74
    26
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Right, "Realtime Information", select the gear icon, then select "Add display" for the type of display dials, digits, whatever you prefer, next menu shows a list of what is available. For mine, I have selected the "Battery Block Voltage" for all 14 blocks, "Internal Resistance" for all 14 and a few other things. I have my displays on several screens that I can scroll through.
     
  10. MickyMatter

    MickyMatter Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    45
    24
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Right!
    Click the gear symbol or long press in free area and choose something like "add Display" (I don't know the exact translation, my app is in German.)
    There you can try different types to find what you'll like most.
    After choosing the display type, you have to choose the PID/sensor.
    When choosing while connected with the car, black list entries won't work, (light) green ones will work.

    Seems like I was too slow

    SM-G900F ?
     
    #10 MickyMatter, Aug 12, 2017 at 5:16 PM
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017 at 5:23 PM
    davecook89t likes this.
  11. davecook89t

    davecook89t Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    74
    26
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I forgot to mention you can only select items in green, you covered it. :)
     
  12. 44Zoomer

    44Zoomer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    28
    8
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I GOT IT!!!!!!! LOL THANKS ALL..........BUT ALL MY BATTERY BLOCK 1-14 are reading same voltage. 15.8 - 16 all good?
    You all are the BEST!!!
     
    davecook89t likes this.
  13. MickyMatter

    MickyMatter Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    45
    24
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Should be okay.
    Battery consists of 28 modules with each 6 cells with 1.2V (or 7.2V per module).
    So the 14 blocks have nominal 14.4V. The small amount more is okay, equal or less would be bad.
    (The Aux battery has nominal 12V and for real 13.x ...14V)

    SM-G900F ?
     
    davecook89t likes this.
  14. 44Zoomer

    44Zoomer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    28
    8
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I think after all this load test the battery cells with a meter would be best. Find the weak cells and replace.
     
  15. MickyMatter

    MickyMatter Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    45
    24
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Besides the voltage you could check the internal resistance of the 14 blocks. I don't know the right value, but maybe there is one significant.

    When removing all the parts around the battery be careful. The high voltage can be harmful. And when shortcutting one or more modules the high current can be harmful too.

    Btw: On top of the open battery there should be two black smelly rubber hoses for degasing the cells. Often the source for ugly smell in the car. Check and decide for yourself.
    I replaced them with two simply silicon hoses (just cut the needed holes and used the same old end caps)


    SM-G900F ?
     
  16. davecook89t

    davecook89t Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    74
    26
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Right, I believe it is best to sample the voltage values for the blocks at different levels of charge and compare them to one another. I logged about 17.7V per block when my battery was at its highest state of charge (73%) but only around 14.4V per block when my battery was at its lowest state of charge (42%). The variability among the blocks was much greater at the lowest state of charge than at the highest, so I know my battery is showing some wear. I believe voltage difference between the cells at the lowest SOC is a more important measurement than the value of the voltages themselves (i.e. having the cells balanced is more important than their total capacity). If you do decide to replace certain cells, it is very important that you balance the new ones with the old. There is a lot of information on this forum about how best to do that.
     
  17. fotomoto

    fotomoto Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    3,251
    1,605
    0
    Location:
    So. Texas
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    While running the app, run a force charge: E-brake on, foot firmly on brake pedal, place in drive and floor gas pedal and hold till battery is charged up to green bar.

    Discharge: put car in N, a/c on full and let battery discharge to the purple bars.

    Rinse, lather, repeat a couple of more times while watching the block voltages in the app. You should get a good feel for which module(s) are under performing.
     
    davecook89t likes this.
  18. 44Zoomer

    44Zoomer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    28
    8
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Thats What thats smell is.....lol Thanks!!
     
  19. 44Zoomer

    44Zoomer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    28
    8
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Thanks for sharing your knowledge. Its so different from gasoline cars
     
    davecook89t likes this.
  20. 44Zoomer

    44Zoomer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    28
    8
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Good tip i see what you are getting at. Way to go...Thank you.............
     
    davecook89t likes this.
Loading...