1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

TPMS linked to Traction Control

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Christopher MacIntosh, Nov 28, 2019.

1. Christopher MacIntosh

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Hi Everyone!!

I am new to the Prius and the community and I just ran into my first issue I was wondering if someone could clarify for me.

I recently purchased new snow tires for the Prius and some steelies for the new tires. I purchased everything at Costco, however, when I went to get everything installed, I realized that the new car had a locking lug nut on it, which I did not have the key for. Costco then proceeded to put the new tires on the new rims and left them in my trunk.

Today I took the Prius into Toyota as we needed to get a new key programmed for the car. While my wife was there, she asked if they could put the winter tires on the car since the summer rims are locked on and we do not have a lug key. The person at Toyota said they could not install the winter tires because the rims did not have TPMS sensor installed.

So my question is, if I put the winter tires on anyway (without the sensors), I'm assuming the TPMS light comes on in the Prius. When the TPMS light is on, am I able to deactivate the Traction Control System of the vehicle? I have heard of not being able to deactivate the Traction Control System in some cars when the TPMS light is on.

Best,
    Chris

2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    A TPMS is not required in Canada (but it is in the US). If you put a TPMS on your winter tires, then you have to go to a Toyota dealer to reprogram the sensors twice a year and that's expensive. (Why Toyota doesn't allow 8 programmed sensors instead of 4 is clearly a cost cutting measure or one where they feel it won't provide value to most of their customers).