TPMS Management with Techstream

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by wjtracy, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,967
    30,749
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Or just raise all pressures, say to max sidewall, then drop them one at a time.
     
  2. talonts

    talonts VFAQman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    443
    67
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hahahahahahahhahahahaa! Um, NO. Florida doesn't seem to require squat, and has no vehicle inspections. Basic lights are about it, sand rails are road legal with few mods.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  3. wjtracy

    wjtracy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    11,000
    3,439
    1
    Location:
    Northern VA (NoVA)
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Wrap up
    So my TPMS experiment is over... I have now replaced all of my TPMS with new OEM Deno's from Amazon (~$33 each).

    > My "fake" reading using the binder clip method on a spare TPMS is still working after several years, so that was a good way to get the warning light off.

    >> I was surprised three of my orig TPMS batteries lasted 12 years...the first one died at 9.5 years.

    Interestingly, I see my daughter's 2010 Honda Civic TPMS is a little better than Toyota Prius TPMS implementation.
    She has two warning lights: (1) one light for low tire pressure reading, and (2) then a "TPMS" text light which pops up if a TPMS is not sending a signal (e.g low battery). So her TPMS system still works to monitor pressure in the tires, even if one or more of the TPMS has stopped giving a reading.

    Cost- I am a bit pissed about TPMS replacement cost labor. My tire installer (Tire Rack installer) charges me $30 labor for new TPMS (per tire) and this +$30 labor charge is additional onto their normal tire installation charge, which is already high at about $40/tire. Keep in mind, I personally supplied the new TPMS units and furthermore I preset the TPMS codes as well, such that they did not even have to do that. Thus I did not save any money by waiting to replace the TPMS when I replaced the tires. I may be done using that tire installer, although they are a high quality shop.

    Overall, I really wonder if TPMS is worthwhile due to replacement costs, and also TPMS units seeem to be causing as many flats as they are preventing. My other vehicle had a near blowout on the highway when a TPMS stem rusted thru.
     
    #43 wjtracy, Nov 26, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2018
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    91,766
    41,396
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    agreed. if mine needed replacing, i wouldn't. but i check my pressures regularly.
     
  5. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,967
    30,749
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    ^ I actually thought I musta posted that. Had to check the avatar.
     
    bisco likes this.
  6. Sezy

    Sezy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    405
    205
    37
    Location:
    O'Fallon, Missouri
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Fixed!!! Got a ATEQ reset tool which showed me different ID's than a screenshot I took from tech stream a while back. The car computer had my aftermarket summer rims saved. Had a friend with a sensor reading tool get me the ID's off my factory rims then programmed them into the car with this Ateq tool. Could have done it all in Techstream but this was quicker.
    ATEQ Quickset Light TPMS Reset Tool
     
    SFO likes this.
  7. jack black

    jack black Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    220
    138
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    WOW! very useful info. i ordered these TPMS sensors (not for prius, but some other toyota car) and i'll use the squeezing trick to test them before mounting.
     
    SFO and wjtracy like this.
  8. wjtracy

    wjtracy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    11,000
    3,439
    1
    Location:
    Northern VA (NoVA)
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Still working in the binder clip at 13 years old! No longer needed in my car.
    I tried to use in my other car, dang, turns out my other car is 433 hz so not compatible.
    I could not seem to emulate the trick on other car's TPMS.
    I got a Autel TPMS reader so I can see it is still working....reports low battery..unsurprisingly
     
    jack black likes this.
  9. jack black

    jack black Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    220
    138
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    @wjtracy
    update. i got the new Denso sensors, they are a bit redesigned and i could not make them work with the paper clip like you did. they work fine installed and registered by techstream. i'm pleasantly surprised by walmart tire. they installed the new TPMS sensors for free and returned the old sensors. there is a video on youtube how to replace a battery in those.
     
    wjtracy and SFO like this.
  10. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    3,792
    3,685
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Is there a part # you could share for these updated TPMS sensors that have replaceable batteries?
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  11. wjtracy

    wjtracy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    11,000
    3,439
    1
    Location:
    Northern VA (NoVA)
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    That would be intersting if you could change batteries, usually they are the welded in type. But with some hacking you could I suppose.
    I have a TPMS that I recently dissected (non Denso ) batt is a Maxell CR2450HR...looks like this one
    [​IMG]
     
    jack black likes this.
  12. jack black

    jack black Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    220
    138
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    no it's not that. the old sensors can be hacked to replace the battery see here:

     
Loading...