TPMS question...$5 per new tire to reset? $20 to push a button?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by J5A, Apr 16, 2015.

  1. J5A

    J5A Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    592
    83
    0
    Location:
    Severna Park, MD
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I know how to reset the TPMS from home rotations and pressure adjustments, however my Prius is having its first set of new tires installed next week and the pricing sheet says $5 per tire to reset TPMS ($20). New valve stems going in, so they'll be transferring the bugs over, but is there something else involved in resetting TPMS when getting new tires besides pushing the button??
    Thanks!!
     
  2. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Titanic Social Director

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    37,070
    25,875
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Read NutzAboutBolts posting here:

    Are the valves and TPMS one unit? | PriusChat

    Bottom line, I think you can just tell them to leave the valves and TPMS alone, pocket the $20. I wouldn't just spring it on them though; discuss it up-front. If they give you a hard time it might be worth it to try elsewhere. This seems more or less a ploy, and messing with TPMS can leave them messed up.

    Personally, I'm about ready to drop kick the things off the driveway, things are laxer up here tho. I think. I hope. We've got no tpms on our separate snows, and no problems.
     
    J5A likes this.
  3. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,064
    6,743
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Why do you need to reset tpms?
     
  4. mrbigh

    mrbigh Prius Absolutum Dominium

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    3,686
    682
    2
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    It sounds like another repair shop shady maneuver.............:mad:
     
  5. KennyGS

    KennyGS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    1,173
    904
    1
    Location:
    Keystone State
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    If those are the same sensors that were already on the wheels, then no reset is necessary. Any new sensors will have to be programmed into the system.
     
  6. ETC(SS)

    ETC(SS) The other One Percenter.....

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    5,726
    4,467
    0
    Location:
    Redneck Riviera (Gulf South)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    There are lots of tire shops out there.
    Some of them low ball the price of the tire, and then shank you with all of the extras. (Oh? You want them inflated??? :eek: )

    I think it's time that you explored other options.
     
  7. lester williams

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    227
    68
    0
    Location:
    mississippi
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    How in the dickens does a wheel know that a new tire was paced on it??? I would have asked that guy if he was goofy.....
     
  8. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Titanic Social Director

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    37,070
    25,875
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I've yet to get new tires with TPMS involved. In past new valves were pretty much mandatory with new tires; all shops suggested them, and there was pretty good justification: the valves were largely rubber.

    The valves with TPMS sensors are integral I think, ie: you can't replace them. They're metal, with maybe an O-ring sealing at the valve rim junction.

    I think the tire shops are both hurting from losing out on new valve installs, and seeing a cash cow. Trouble is: there may be SOME justification in replacing the rubber bits.

    Phone a few places, ask? Whatever they tell you, maybe you can pass it on here?

    And if they're talking about reinializing the EXISTING TPMS, that makes no sense, not necessary. I suspect what they're pushin is to replace some rubber sealing gaskets. Whether that's warranted is the question.
     
    #8 Mendel Leisk, Apr 17, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2015
  9. David Beale

    David Beale Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    5,963
    1,935
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    It was always customary to replace the valve stems when replacing tyres. The rubber would harden and crack, and could cause a flat tyre. The stem -insert- usually doesn't need to be replaced (though the new stems came with new inserts).

    In this case, I would tell them to leave the TPMS alone and leave the inserts in the stems. There is just about an even chance they will mess something up by changing them as not. For info., Pearl is still running on the original inserts in the original TPMS units, after two tyre replacements.
    I would also very carefully go over each charge on the quote. There is a hint of slime here!

    Finally, from experience in even the "best" tyre shops, DO check the tyre pressures yourself when they're done. Inflate to your preferred level, then press and hold the TPMS reset button till it beeps or blinks, or whatever it does these days. I have never had a "professional tyre shop" properly inflate my tyres! The pressures are usually all over the place. :(
     
  10. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Titanic Social Director

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    37,070
    25,875
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    ^ Good to know you can achieve a tire change without a complete battle over the TPMS.

    If you've got your TPMS set for tire pressures at a certain level, and you replace tires and set them to the same pressures, I don't think there's any reason to do the TPMS reset. I may be wrong, but think you've just come back to status quo, the TPMS system will be happy without intervention.

    Also, I sorta equate TPMS with the plastic fairings that masquerade as bumpers these days: an item who's fragility has eclipsed it's usefulness.
     
  11. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,064
    6,743
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I do agree the tpms is a way for tire shops to make more money. I once needed a tire repaired, posted sign says $10 but if you have tpms they charge $15. They never even touch that sensor but will charge $5 more for no apparent reason. When I asked them, their answer is "it's because you have a sensor". My best guess is an insurance against accidently breaking one, the extra money will allow them to replace it.
     
  12. szgabor

    szgabor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    993
    174
    0
    Location:
    Oceanside NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I do not understand this whole issue.... I had tire repaired a few times. They took the damaged tire off the rim fixed it. It was CLEARLY off the rim then it was put back inflated and wheel reinstalled ..... and was NO NEED to tpms reset or anything else ...

    The TPMS thingy is fixed onto/into the rim !!! (I think)
     
  13. ETC(SS)

    ETC(SS) The other One Percenter.....

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    5,726
    4,467
    0
    Location:
    Redneck Riviera (Gulf South)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The TPMS thingy (sensor) is usually attached to the valve stem on the inside of the rim.
    If somebody repairs your tire, and IF they take it off the rim to do so, and if they don't damage the sensor, then there is nothing to "reset" since the wheel usually goes back on wherever it came off.

    When you get four (or two) new tires, they often replace the valve stems which necessitates removing the sensors from the old stems and perhaps some o-ring or gasket replacements.
    Really....No Big Deal.
    Tire shops do this for a living. They're pretty good at it.

    The trouble is that if they put the rims with the new tires on them back on different corners of the car, and they don't 'reset' the sensors, then your car might report that the wrong tire is low.
    Most shops just do a like-for-like and put the same sensors back in the same corners....but if you're a busy shop and several people are working on the install and balancing work, wheels can go back on different corners.
    ALL good shops will ensure that the sensors are properly registered or 'reset' or 'learned' when they're finishing up - if for no other reason that they might not have been properly registered before the customer got new tires.
    You touch it.......You own it.
    All of this is not a big deal for most people, especially if you just have one little TPMS light on your dash that illuminates whenever there is a low tire.
    This is the way my work Prius is.

    As stated above, sometimes the shop will require a little extra money to replace the valve-stems if TPMS sensors are attached, and sometimes they will charge to make sure that the system 're-learns' which corners the new sensors is currently located in.
    Charging extra for working on wheels with TPMS sensors on them is a fairly low-octane practice, since ALL POVs have pretty much been required to have them from the factory for almost a decade now.
    OTOH, ALL SHOPS charge for this in theory if they perform the labor.
    Some just don't itemize it or they give the customer the choice of not replacing the valve-stems, or they do it as a matter of policy and roll it into the price of the tire...or the instal package, or whatever.

    There are lots of tire shops.
    Negotiate....or just pick a good shop and don't sweat the details.


    Your call.
     
    #13 ETC(SS), Apr 17, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2015
    szgabor likes this.
  14. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Titanic Social Director

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    37,070
    25,875
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Tire rotation has no effect on the TPMS system.

    The wheels/tire's could actually be in a stack BESIDE the car, it'll still be happy. Until you drive off.

    ETC, what I'm saying above contradicts the Owners Manual, but that's been my experience. I'm (DIY)swapping between regular and snow tires, and rotating them in the process. The snows don't have tpms sensors, the OEM tires (obviously) do. Every spring when I put the OEM's back on, regardless of position, the TPMS system is happy, warning light goes out. I think the manual is not quite right on this.
     
    #14 Mendel Leisk, Apr 17, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2015
    ETC(SS) likes this.
  15. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    12,979
    6,495
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    This varies by system design. Because Prius has only one TPMS antenna, it has no clue which code is coming from which corner. Swapping positions changes nothing.

    Some other systems can link specific TPMS codes to specific corners. And some systems can even re-learn new codes automatically, or at a simple push of a button, so no human pre-knowledge of the new sensor code is required. I believe only super-high-end brands do this, like Chevy, Ford, and Chrysler :rolleyes:. Low end brands like Toyota and Subaru do not.
     
    ETC(SS) likes this.
  16. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Titanic Social Director

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    37,070
    25,875
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Maybe they wrote the Owners Manual while the TPMS was still being designed.
     
    ETC(SS) likes this.
  17. jdcollins5

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    5,131
    1,302
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I just installed my second set of replacement tires and have yet to do anything with the TPMS sensors with no problem.

    Sam's sets the pressure to door placard 35 psi. When I get home I reset to 40/38. No issue with TPMS.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  18. KennyGS

    KennyGS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    1,173
    904
    1
    Location:
    Keystone State
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    My Corvette tells me the pressure in each corner, warns me at the dash if low or high, and sends me an email in case I'm oblivious while driving.
     
  19. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,306
    910
    68
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I replaced one sensor at age 7 years due to low battery. And another 2 when I replaced 2 tires a year later. Still have one original sensor on my 2006. I never had a "tpms service" over 3 sets of tires. Aftermarket sensors go for about $30 each, or 2x or 3x that for OEM.
     
  20. Former Member 68813

    Former Member 68813 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    3,524
    959
    8
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    exactly, they are easy to damage if they pay no attention. if they have to pay attention, that slows the grease monkeys and they charge extra fee.
     
Loading...