1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

TPMS Question....Mystery ????

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by CLUBGUY, Mar 27, 2013.

1. CLUBGUY

CLUBGUY Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Installed a set of OE wheels/tires w/OE sensors...(purchased from PriusChat-private sale forum)..I new the different sensors would have to be synced/initialized to the "v" system....On my first test ride the dash tpms warning light did NOT come on for the first 7+ miles..??...I sort of expected it to come on sooner although I have no experience with the workings of any TPMS....Then it came on and remained on for about four days then it went OFF/OUT and has been OFF/OUT for two days now...Any thoughts on what is going on....??????...........This is a mystery..!!!...????

2. Air_Boss

Air_Boss Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Interesting, indeed. I wonder if the system does in fact self-set to new TPMS transponders and the dealer visit is a convenience not a necessity?

3. PosauneGuy

PosauneGuy Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Where are your old OE wheels/tires/sensors? If stored near where you park your vehicle, it may have registered the original sensors again. The TPMS warning light comes on about 20 minutes after not detecting the sensor signal. Once it does come on, it stays on until it "sees" the associated sensors. My guess is that your original wheels/sensors are still near the vehicle when parked and that's why the light went out.

4. CLUBGUY

CLUBGUY Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five