TPMS sensor programing

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Al Bundy, Jul 13, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Al Bundy

    Al Bundy Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    140
    68
    0
    Location:
    florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I bought a set of OEM rims with new tires at a junkyard over the weekend and the car does not recognize the sensors.. I had a techstream from amazon and need to know how to program the car to detect the new sensors. its not doing it automatically ..
    I see something about manually putting the sensor numbers into the laptop but cant get those numbers without having the tires removed from the rims..
    is there any way to have the techstream detect the needed numbers?
     
  2. Lucifer

    Lucifer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    1,011
    479
    0
    Location:
    Nh
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    My local tire jobber, when I bought winter wheels used his programmer to get the serial numbers off the existing wheels, then program the new whees with the same number, the system switches from winter wheels to summer wheels seamlessly, I’d check an independent tire jobber, won’t be free.
     
    Al Bundy and JC91006 like this.
  3. Al Bundy

    Al Bundy Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    140
    68
    0
    Location:
    florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    thanks ill check monday
     
  4. DanielO

    DanielO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have a 2018 Prius, and replaced the OEM wheels with after market wheels. My tire dealer installed the original 2018 tire sensors when remounting the wheels. However he could not ID the TPMS, so I went to my Toyota dealer, who told me they would have to uninstall the tires to get the codes to reinitialize the system. The cost, $225 with everything.
    Is there a way to get the 2018 Prius TMPS codes without unmounting the tires? The posts above seem to suggest that ... does anyone have any more direct information?
     
  5. Al Bundy

    Al Bundy Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    140
    68
    0
    Location:
    florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    try another tire shop soe have scanners that can pick up the code.. if not they have to get the info off the sensors inside the tire... if you are reusing the original sensors i dont know why the car isnt picking it up.
     
  6. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk 'Orrible Oracle

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    38,326
    27,112
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Just sniping: Mazda sells TPMS sensors for their vehicles for $35 (CDN) apiece, and the car recognizes new sensors, with just a bit of drive-around.

    For anyone struggling with Toyota's TPMS sensor implementation: just fugeaboutit? Get plain valves installed, and/or ignore warning light if you have unrecognized sensors?
     
  7. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    5,425
    4,146
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    That's BS. Any dealer or tire shop can pull TPMS ID WITHOUT unmounting tire. You can get ID either by hand held type TPMS scanner or OBDII connected reader. Besides, as @Al Bundy pointed out, you are reusing old OEM TPMS on new set of wheels, there should not be any registering of new IDs required. You may have to reset the TPMS to a new PSI, but that can be done with MID under setting.
     
  8. Al Bundy

    Al Bundy Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    140
    68
    0
    Location:
    florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    black tape over the warning light was the cheapest solution .. tire kingdom wanted $40 to scan my wheels with the hand held... free if Id sign up for their credit card...LOL
     
  9. Skibob

    Skibob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    2,716
    1,389
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    40 dollars to scan the wheels sounds reasonable. Cheaper than having those tires dismounted. If black tape is ok with you fine. When the tires are worn out get the numbers from the sensors. If they are less than 10 years old they might even still work. If not then just leave the tape on and change them out on the next tire change after that.
     
    #9 Skibob, Sep 21, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2018
Loading...