Traffic information in Nav, optional?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Koma, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. Koma

    Koma New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    3
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I've got a 2009 Prius II with the Nav, bluetooth and back up camera package. (Executive I think it was called...)

    In the manual there are instructions on how to use the "RDS TMC" system which will plot traffic information into the map of the nav and also suggest new routes.

    However, I do not have these options in the Nav menu, nor do I see a "TMC" symbol in the map as I should.

    I wonder if the TMC is an option one can select when buying the car? Or should it be included in my executive package?

    Or could the TMC simply be broken?

    My Toyota dealer could not answer to any of the above questions...

    Is there a physical TMC box somewhere that I can check if it is installed at all?
     
  2. CaliforniaPrius

    CaliforniaPrius Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    313
    199
    0
    Location:
    Alameda, California
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
  3. KK6PD

    KK6PD _ . _ . / _ _ . _

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    4,003
    936
    118
    Location:
    Los Angeles Foothills
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    In the United States of America, XM Satellite Radio and Sirius Satellite Radio provide TMC service all over the US. Navteq provides traffic data to both providers. Navteq Traffic delivers traffic information and related advertising via RDS and HD signals to navigation devices nationwide.
    I believe you have to pay for the service!
     
  4. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,871
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I do not know if this will help in the US but in the UK the RDS and TMC are enabled on one of the audio screens on the MFD.
     
  5. Koma

    Koma New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    3
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    In Sweden, where I live, the RDS-TMC is free (well, it's paid for by taxes), so if RDS-TMC is functioning in the car it I should be able to see it.

    I guess my question is: on a 2009 Prius, is RDS-TMC even an option? Or should it always be installed in the car?
     
  6. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,871
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Same here in the UK and comes as standard in the satnav equipped Tspirit model.

    John (Britprius)
     
Loading...