1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Transmission Fluid, Sparkplugs and more

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by johnnycents, Feb 25, 2021.

1. johnnycents

johnnycents New Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all - inherited a 2015 Prius from a relative before the new year.

As far as I can tell this car has never had the sparkplugs replaced or the transmission fluid replaced, both of which were suggested when I got some service done at the dealership. It's at about 180,000 KM, virtually all of it highway miles. I'm fairly new to the car - anything I should be on the lookout for or anything urgent that should be taken care of first? Any issues doing a first Transmission fluid change this late in the game?

#1 johnnycents, Feb 25, 2021
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2021
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    in the us, we can go to 'toyota.com/owners' and plug in the vin to get any dealer service history.

not sure if you can do that in ca.

short of any knowledge, i would follow the maintenance interval guide for your car.

although it may not be in the ca guide (it isn't in the us) it is always good to change the ecvt fluid at any mileage. it isn't like a regular auto trans, and it can only help, not harm.

get a load test done on your 12 volt if you can, unless you know that it has been replaced. the date code is on the top, but you have to unclamp the terminal with the box on it to see it.

cabin and engine air filters should be inspected/cleaned/replaced and pump up your tyres pressure.
    check the spare at the same time.

3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Full brake inspection, if there's no evidence it's been done.