Trouble resetting check engine

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Dbasra99, Mar 5, 2022.

  1. Dbasra99

    Dbasra99 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2021
    28
    4
    0
    Location:
    Parkersburg WV
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I just replaced my EGR and cooler and intake manifold. However, I have tried a number of methods and cannot reset the check engine light for even one second. I have tried the battery and a cheap scan device.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  2. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,874
    8,103
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    What made you think the cause of the check engine light are related to the parts you replaced? Do you have any codes?
     
  3. StarCaller

    StarCaller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    1,204
    670
    0
    Location:
    Cedar Crest, NM, USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    check for unplugged connectors (especially maf, map) /
     
  4. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    19,409
    12,959
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    If it's called a "scan device" and not just a "clear device", then it can probably be used to find out what trouble codes you have. What are they?
     
  5. Dbasra99

    Dbasra99 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2021
    28
    4
    0
    Location:
    Parkersburg WV
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Thanks for the suggestion. I think I pulled a wire when disconnecting the MAP sensor connector. Just need to get a pigtail to fix it.
     
  6. Dbasra99

    Dbasra99 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2021
    28
    4
    0
    Location:
    Parkersburg WV
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Just an update. I was able to shove in a wire to the connector and attach to the broken wire and was able clear the error code.
     
Loading...