1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Troubleshooting A/C - No cooling - Fan runs

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by twinkle-toes, Jun 30, 2021.

1. twinkle-toes

twinkle-toes New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    A bit of context:
    - I'm a 1st year HVAC/R apprentice, still learning and inexperienced. But I understand how an a/c system works. So if you want to get into detail, I will most likely pick it up.

Condition/history of the car - I drive my dad's old 2006 Prius, it has a rebuilt engine with 350,000km on it. I don't think the condenser/evaporator coils have been cleaned ( at least in the 4 years that I have been driving it).

I did replace the cabin filter about a year ago, but I'm doubtful that a dirty cabin filter would result in no cooling. Regardless, I'll replace it if needed.

When I turn the A/C on, the fan runs fine, but there is no cooling.

We haven't done any regular maintenance on the A/C system, so I'm wondering if maybe the coils are super dirty, and can't absorb/reject heat efficiently, which is resulting in no cooling.

What steps should I take to try and troubleshoot this problem? Should I try cleaning out the coils to see if that helps? What else should I check?

Is the cabin AC system the same one that cools the engine? If so, the AC not working could damage the engine which would make this more of an urgent issue than I thought!

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to reply... :)

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Maybe it just needs some refrigerant

3. twinkle-toes

twinkle-toes New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Then wouldn't I be concerned about a leak?
    Where did the refrigerant go? lol

4. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II