1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Trying to diagnose my brake problem

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by prmp945, Apr 19, 2018.

1. prmp945

prmp945 Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hello all,

I have a 2011 Prius with about 65K miles. I am the second owner since 30K miles. I have normally attempted all my own maintenance and repairs on my vehicles, but I am far from an expert. This car has had very little done to it during my ownership.

Recently the brakes have started to pulsate just before the car comes to a stop when braking lightly. If I let my foot off the brake slightly, the car will lurch forward in very small increments - maybe better described as "shaking" forward. There is no obvious brake noise.

If I fully depress the brakes while stopped, there seems to be a pump noise that comes and goes in fairly short intervals but does not seem to stop.

Potential causes:

Brake pads: I think the most obvious cause of the pulsation issue would be worn brake pads, but that would normally be felt throughout any braking rather than only just before the car comes to a stop. Also, brake pads on a Prius at 65K seems early from what I've read. My spouse is the primary driver and is not aggressive at all, and when I drive I try my best to use the regen braking rather than the pads. Brake pads also wouldn't explain the pump noise.

Fluid: I've taken a quick look at the brake fluid level and it appears to be at the correct level (the "support" line in between min and max). AFAIK it has never been changed.

Other: Just over a month ago I had new tires installed. I'm not sure what could have gone wrong at that time, but I thought I'd mention it.

Any ideas? Any help is much appreciated!

2. sfv41901

sfv41901 Masta S

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Four