1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Two dumb inverter coolant questions

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by RebL, Sep 11, 2016.

1. RebL

RebL Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Okay, I've watched a couple YouTube videos and read several conversations on this website. I have the Toyota SLLC, the 24mm socket, and a torque wrench, but I've never done this before, so I have two questions (so far):
    1. What happens if I don't get all the air bubbles out? I plan to do the recommended on for two secs, off, recheck the level and top off as needed. But is there much potential for harming the car?
    2. I used about 2 ounces from my new jug of coolant topping off the reservoir in a vain attempt to get the intermittent CEL for the coolant flow control valve to stay off. If it turns out that when I finish it's not quite "full," can I top off with a different brand? The only nearby dealership with a parts department open on Sunday is Prime, and I'm not going back there.

Thanks, gotta start somewhere....

2. valde3

valde3 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    You appear to be confused about this. Or I didn’t understand you.

Inverter coolant and engine coolant are two separate systems.
    -Inverter coolant needs that 24mm socket and you should also have new sealing washer for it and short clear hose to bleed it. But inverter coolant is easy to bleed. You just fill the system. Open the bleeder and connect the hose from bleeder to reservoir. Power up the Prius. And then when you see no bubbles in the hose close the bleeder.
    -Engine coolant is the one that’s hard to bleed.

Don’t top up with wrong fluid.

3. dorunron

dorunron Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three