1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Understanding EV

Discussion in 'Prius c Technical Discussion' started by novaz, May 27, 2017.

1. novaz

novaz Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius c
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I am a little confused about the EV indicator on monitor display when my battery is charged about 3/4 or so and my speed is less than 40mph the EV indicator comes on but when I try to switch EV on with the push button on the floor it tells me excessive speed does not allow this mode I am really new to the Prius so just trying to understand more
    Thanks

2. DKTVAV

DKTVAV Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    EV < 25MPH

3. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    As you have noticed there are two EV conditions:

1 ) You can press the EV button to force the computers to choose EV mode against their better judgement. Re-parking in a parking lot, or sneaking home late at night might be times this would seem like a good idea, but it is largely a gimmick.

2) Sometimes the computers will decide on their own that EV mode is more efficient than the gas engine. (for me this happens more often when the Cruise Control is on, I suspect the computers do not trust my right foot) This can happen at speed up to about 40 MPH.

4. Sean Nelson

Sean Nelson Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Yeah, the car can choose to use EV mode over a broader range of conditions than you can. But you can usually fool it - if you've got a decent amount of power in the battery and you're not trying to accelerate or go uphill, then briefly lifting your foot right off the throttle pedal will usually prompt the car to go into EV mode, and then you can reapply just enough throttle to maintain your speed without having the engine turn on again.