1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

[UPDATED, still need urgent help] - Automatic headlight mod causing "Check Headlight System"

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by DavidSpivey, Aug 26, 2015.

1. DavidSpivey

DavidSpivey Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have performed the automatic headlight mod. I used pins from L66 and L8. I purchased the stalk from eBay, and have it successfully installed. The mod functions; with the stalk set to AUTO in darkness, the lights come on and the dash dims properly. The lights also perform the opposite function in daylight. However, about 10 seconds after headlights are activated automatically, an error shows up on the dash. A flashing yellow triangle appears on the left, and the message "CHECK HEADLIGHT SYSTEM" appears. I am a novice at this and made a mistake by swapping the pins 21 and 28 the first time when I installed the pins in L7. I realized my mistake and corrected it, but this error is befuddling me.

EDIT: this issue also is occurring when the headlights are simply set for "on" instead of "auto".

It may be of note to mention that I also removed and disassembled the instrument panel (don't remember what it's called). I noticed that the repair manual indicates this error message could be from the gauges as well (if I read it correctly). I needed to clean the screen of the panel from the inside because the previous owner had caused scratches on the inside of the acrylic.

I am sorry for creating a new thread on this, but I can't help wondering if I have really messed something up. Please help.

#1 DavidSpivey, Aug 26, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2015
  2. DavidSpivey

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    A couple of things I checked:
    It's not the stalk. I disconnected the new stalk, and had the old one attached, just hanging there. The error still occurs.