1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Upgrade audio on stock 2007

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by masnager, May 18, 2012.

1. masnager

masnager New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I just bought a 2007 Prius package 2. Stock audio system. I've had it for a a few days and realized the audio system sounds terrible. I just want better clarity when I play my music loud. Not super concerned about bass so I would rather not start with a sub. But I like a lot of treble and clarity. Should I get new speakers? Amp? By the way I am a complete newbie when it comes to audio so please make what you're saying easy to understand. Also, I am on a budget. Would like to spend under 200 if possible? I don't want to install it myself so also need to know how much installation is for all these things. Thanks!

2. akm3

akm3 First time Lebowski'er

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hey I'm in the exact same boat (same model Prius)

I'm going to get new speakers (Probably JL audio, based on listening to them at the store)...although I'm concerned that the 'store' acoustics and the 'car' acoustics are so different that they won't sound the same.

The head unit is more tricky. You can get the fancy touchscreen navigation but I don't want to tempt thieves. A 'stealth' install sounds much more to my liking...I'd lose Nav but I have a smartphone. The stereo store (Car Toys) doesn't want to do this kind of install though.

I really don't want to figure it out myself.

Dilemmas.

Good luck! If you start by just replacing the speakers you will hear an improvement (probably, if you don't listen too loud) but your stock head unit (i.e. your current stereo) won't have the juice to really push them. Probably.

3. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius