1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Used Prius: How to check HV batt

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by rdsnake, Jan 10, 2017.

1. rdsnake

rdsnake New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Looking at buying my first Prius. New to the hybrid system but I've been a auto mechanic for the past 9 years. Anyways found 2010 Prius with 71K. Going to test drive it tomorrow. Any quick ways to check the HV battery and hybrid system is working correctly while on the test drive?

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!
    the only thing you can do is reset the trip meter, go for a good long trip under various conditions (20+) miles, and see how the mpg's look.
    if you had the time, you could take it to a dealer for a battery health test, but it's like going to the doctor. today, you're as healthy as a horse, tomorrow, who knows?
    all the best!(y)

MikeDee likes this.
  3. ericbecky

ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Too bad you weren't a bit closer I could meet you in person.
    Feel free to call me and we can talk through some ideas. Kind of depends what kind of diagnostic equipment you already have.

4. rdsnake

rdsnake New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I will take it for a drive and see how she performs. If all goes well I will be a Prius owner!

EricBecky - I noticed you rebuild the batteries. What's the usually cost for this? Feel free to PM me.

bisco likes this.
  5. ericbecky

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Using your equipment if you are able to see Delta SOC as well as graph/record vblock voltages that'd help you a bit.
    Also check with Toyota to confirm what sort of issues may have been recently reported.

6. scona

scona Active Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    N/A