1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Used Purchase Questions

Discussion in 'Prius v Main Forum' started by C.G. Love, Feb 22, 2019.

1. C.G. Love

C.G. Love New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Newbie here. My 24 yo Corolla wagon w/350k is not dead yet, have researched all, heart set on a V, shopping for 2014-15, trim Three to Five, which hopefully will be last ever car for me, have questions, esp. about technology as I'm 24 yrs behind (read: cassette player!). I created a spreadsheet where I list contenders within my parameters (price, mileage, features, location) but have questions I need help with:

1. Another thread said Entune is crap. What do most ppl think? Can it be updated? Can I insist dealer do so?
    2. I have Android cell. What does that mean in regards to Prius V technology?
    (My phone's gps/maps cuts out a lot, so was hoping for more reliable, that can use voice with. I do a lot of road/camping trips)
    3. How do ppl like sun/moonroof? Most in my range don't have, but I do like them.
    4. There seems to be few (only 2 on my list in 2 months looking) with the pre-collision, voice recognition features in my price range. Do you feel worth holding out for these?
    5. Besides styling, is there any reason to hold out for 2015 over 2014? I know original warranties expire after five years--should that be concern?
    6. Would it be better to get a 2014 with lower mileage or a 2015 with higher, or does it make any difference?
    7. The 2014s are 1-3k less, often with lower miles, so want good reason to spend more. cars I can afford have
    8. Any way to tell if battery bad or going?
    Everyone who doesn't have Prius tells me not to get because batteries costly, but have read that they are now about $1k. Truth? Are 2015 better than 2014 batteries?