Vais Tech iPod - Worth getting ?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by mwhaley99, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. mwhaley99

    mwhaley99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    63
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I am thinking of getting a Vais Tech iPod interface unit and had a few questions regarding the unit.

    Can you select Playlists from the screen in the Prius ?

    Can you select Genres from the screen in the Prius ?

    I believe the newer version can handle playlists with upto 999 songs, what happens if you have a playlist with more than that ?
     
  2. DocVijay

    DocVijay Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    1,455
    2
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Mark Whaley @ Jun 7 2006, 11:29 AM) [snapback]267239[/snapback]</div>
    Yes, you can select playlists.

    No you cannot select genres.

    If you have over 999 songs, it will play them, but the display won't show the right info. This will likely be resolved.
     
  3. mwhaley99

    mwhaley99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    63
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Thanks.

    I was also looking at the unit to be released by Coastal Tech, but was not sure when it would be released and looking at all the posts regarding the delivery of items from them that it might be a long wait for it.

    and it is fully selectable from the touch screen in an 05 Prius pkg 7 (JBL) ?

    and does it show the full track info on screen ?
     
  4. aaf709

    aaf709 Ravenpaw of ThunderClan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    3,841
    9
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Some consider Coastal's to be vaporware.

    You might also want to consider the DICE unit. It works with the 2005 #6 (didn't know there was a #7 in 2005) which has the NAV and BT. There's a group buy at the moment for that one.
     
  5. BobR

    BobR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    336
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Mark Whaley @ Jun 7 2006, 01:01 PM) [snapback]267305[/snapback]</div>
    With a 05 Prius, the Vais SLI emulates a CD or MD changer. Since you have a CD Changer, you should have it emulate a MD Changer so it won't conflict.

    It is fully selectable from the touch screen and is very robust. It is very rare for the SLI to get confused. The couple times it has, I switch it to simple mode and back and it 100% again. I've never had my SLI completely lock up where I had to unplug it. This is a good thing because it is behind my radio.

    The new SLI will have an automatic "I Agree" button for the navigation system and Vais is also coming out with a USB Cable so the firmware is user upgradeable.

    All of the Vais products are on sale. Check out their forum for details and my photo album for pictures.

    http://www.vaistech.com/forums/index.php
     
  6. mwhaley99

    mwhaley99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    63
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    So when is the new model due out ?

    Is the group sale for the new model or the older one ?

    Is their 2 cables to connect to the car (1 to the MFD and 1 to the Radio) or just 1 ?
     
  7. BobR

    BobR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    336
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Mark Whaley @ Jun 7 2006, 08:06 PM) [snapback]267563[/snapback]</div>
    The Sale is for the new model. After June 15th, they will send you a promo code for the discount. I believe the new model is currently shipping, so if you want it right away and don't want to wait for the sale you can.

    There is just one cable to connect to the back of the radio and one cable to go from the SLI to the iPod.
     
  8. mwhaley99

    mwhaley99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    63
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    and it also as the NAV Override built in ??
     
  9. AlphaTeam

    AlphaTeam Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    643
    1
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Mark Whaley @ Jun 8 2006, 10:11 AM) [snapback]267867[/snapback]</div>

    Is the NAV override for the 2006 also?
     
  10. aaf709

    aaf709 Ravenpaw of ThunderClan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    3,841
    9
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(AlphaTeam @ Jun 8 2006, 08:17 AM) [snapback]267925[/snapback]</div>
    I don't think it's the override per se, I thought it was the "I Agree" screen.
     
  11. mwhaley99

    mwhaley99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    63
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    That is what I meant, just used the wrong words for it.
     
  12. AlphaTeam

    AlphaTeam Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    643
    1
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Mark Whaley @ Jun 8 2006, 11:25 AM) [snapback]267931[/snapback]</div>
    Yes me also. Will this select the I Agree button?
     
  13. DocVijay

    DocVijay Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    1,455
    2
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Yes, if you hit the MAP button on your steering wheel, the SLI will automatically "hit" the AGREE button after a few seconds. Not terrifically significant, I mean it only saves about half a second of minimal effort, but helpful nonetheless.

    So far I'm very pleased with the new SLI (I have a 2006, so it's completely new firmware).
     
  14. BobR

    BobR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    336
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(DocVijay @ Jun 8 2006, 12:41 PM) [snapback]267991[/snapback]</div>
    Are you using the new MP3 Disc interface? How is that working for you?
    Could you post some Pics?
     
  15. mwhaley99

    mwhaley99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    63
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Well I signed up for the group buy and as soon as it ends and I get my discount coupon code I will order one.

    Do I have to pull the dash apart to install it ?
     
  16. aaf709

    aaf709 Ravenpaw of ThunderClan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    3,841
    9
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Mark Whaley @ Jun 8 2006, 02:07 PM) [snapback]268243[/snapback]</div>
    If it's similar to the installation of the VIAS AIC-100i, you'll have to take off the lower glove box and the A/C vent cover to the right of the MFD.
     
  17. DocVijay

    DocVijay Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    1,455
    2
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(BobR @ Jun 8 2006, 05:00 PM) [snapback]268239[/snapback]</div>
    Yes. Sure, I just need to upload them from my camera. Later tonight.

    As for the installation, it's exactly like the AIC. It took me a total of 10 minutes to install it.
     
  18. pre-cbs

    pre-cbs New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    103
    0
    0
    Any word on a VAIS interface for both iPod and Sirius?
     
  19. BobR

    BobR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    336
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(pre-cbs @ Jun 11 2006, 11:57 AM) [snapback]269533[/snapback]</div>
    I know they are working on a SLS interface, which would be just like the SLX only for Sirius.

    Have you posted a question in their forum?

    http://www.vaistech.com/forums/index.php
     
  20. augustson

    augustson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    93
    0
    0
    Location:
    SE Georgia
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(DocVijay @ Jun 8 2006, 08:09 PM) [snapback]268329[/snapback]</div>

    Were you ever able to post pics?
     
Loading...