1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Very low gas milage, engine light coming on and off randomly

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Andrew Colvin, Jun 22, 2022.

1. Andrew Colvin

Andrew Colvin Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    So my reliable mechanic of many years died right before I was taking my car in about the engine light. I have to find a new, trustworthy mechanic but I want to know what to expect (as I am not an expert in these things).

In the past, my engine light would come on and go off randomly and my regular mechanic would scan and it would always indicate the catalytic converter temperature was too high, but the actual temperature was not abnormal. He suspected it was a faulty sensor, but that was something we were going to address before he happen to pass away.

That aside, I have had increasingly low milage (15-20mpg), rough idling, and inconsistencies with when the ICE runs. The car has 207k miles, so I anticipate issues. I have had various parts replaced recently, including:
    • New hybrid battery
    • welds on catalytic converter and exhaust leaks
    • Cleaned O2 sensors
    • Repaired connector to inverter
    • Replaced front struts
    • Replaced oil pressure switch
    • Replaced 4 spark plugs with Iridium Gen 3
    • Replaced radiator, thermostat, water pump
    • Replaced mass air flow sensor
    I was hoping for some suggestions and info about major causes of the bolded symptoms above. What should I expect when I take it in, and what do you recommend may be the problem?

#1 Andrew Colvin, Jun 22, 2022
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2022
  2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base