Video input on the navigation screen

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by MagnusAG99, Mar 1, 2017.

  1. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    671
    516
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hey guys, I'm just wondering if any of u know how the navigation screens backup camera input looks like? I'm gonna install a front bumper camera to, and want to know if I can just use a video splitter, so just by the push of a button I can get the front camera up, without messing with the backup camera
     
  2. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,203
    10,046
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    It's ordinary composite video (as far as I can tell from the wiring diagram); split away....
     
  3. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    671
    516
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    thanks, i got a video composite splitter so ill try to install it like that, in worst case scenario i dont get it to work i got another 7" screen i can install.
     
  4. lucaspiller

    lucaspiller Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    39
    20
    0
    Location:
    Lithuania, EU
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Did you make any progress with this mod?
     
  5. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    671
    516
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A

    i havent been able to do this yet, im gonna try this weekend, ill keep u updated, hope it works :)

    After taking out the navigation unit it isn't any composite cables there. So it doesn't work. I'm gonna have to find another way, thinking of buying a new sun wiser with a screen and hook that up to the front camera.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,203
    10,046
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Just cut the end off the composite cable you've got, and look in the wiring diagram for the matching pins on one of the nav unit input connectors. If you had a 2010 US Denso nav, I think you'd be looking for a white, black, red, and shield on four consecutive pins of L37, with white being the composite video and red/black being power to the camera. But you've got a 2011 in Norway, so I would strongly recommend checking your wiring diagram first before relying on my notes.

    -Chap
     
    MagnusAG99 likes this.
  7. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    671
    516
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    thanks dude, ill look into the wiring diagram, cables/connectors r most likely in the same place as in the US version, just with another color on the cables.
     
  8. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    671
    516
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A


    I'm just really wondering that if I do this maybe the intelligent parking assist will get confused with which camera to use? I don't use the assist that much at all, but when I do I don't want it to screw anything up.
     
  9. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,203
    10,046
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Aha! If you have the parking assist, things may change. You could find that your existing camera is plugged into the parking computer and not directly into the nav unit. The parking computer superimposes its own guide lines and such, and that video goes into the nav unit via GVIF on connector L105 (2010, US, your designations may vary).

    -Chap
     
    MagnusAG99 likes this.
  10. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    671
    516
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    dude, do u think the camera input may be open then? like no connector there? u say it may go thru the parking assist, but maybe the cable from the parking assist to the screen is connected with something else somewhere else then where the cars without parking assist got it?
     
  11. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,203
    10,046
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    It definitely is. From the parking computer is a GVIF cable, that goes to the GVIF connector on the back.

    So maybe there's nothing at the composite input. On the other hand, I have no idea what the nav unit would do if you connected one there, when the GVIF is also connected.

    -Chap
     
    MagnusAG99 likes this.
  12. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    671
    516
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A

    i found these pics on here and google pictures, i think connector 7 on L37 is originally the rearview camera and i think its empty on mine just as on these pics. Is it any chance im right here? reason im guessing its 7 is cause the highlander and other toyotas got it on number 7, and cause its empty here, just as the 6, 8 and 9
     

    Attached Files:

    #12 MagnusAG99, Mar 25, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2017
  13. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    671
    516
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
  14. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    671
    516
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    to people wondering, i tried to add the camera to the nav screen, the video in cabel was free so was the activator "REV" cable, i connected everything but as soon as i hit the camera button i have the backup camera cam up instead of the front camera, so im gonna have to buy a second screen and add it like that, ill leave pics and stuff when im done with it.
     
Loading...