1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Walgreen's ChargePoint stations no longer free

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by plugable, Jun 3, 2012.

1. plugable

plugable Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I went to "fill up" my battery at a Walgreens in Sacramento, like I've been doing for the last 3 months (for free). I was informed that, as of June 1st, the stations are charging $2.00 an hour! I declined their offer...... Oh well, it was fun while it lasted!

2. 2k1Toaster

2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Expect that to become commonplace.

3. janie

janie 2016 Prius 3 Touring

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Yes, I was using Walgreen's for free also- and discovered they are not free anymore for the Charge Point Stations.

I am not positive, but I looked up a Walgreen's in Pleasanton, that has a Sema station, and that one is still listed as free on the Sema website.

The Charge Point Stations at Stoneridge Mall in Pleasanton that used to be free, now are listed as 2.00 per hour, which may have also begun on June 1st.

It's like a treasure hunt, trying to find stations that are free :) there are still some free ones out there :)

4. CharlesH

CharlesH CA HOV Decal #5 on former PiP

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    $2.00/hr for charging is a no-brainer for PiP owners to pass on, corresponding to about $12/gallon for gasoline ($3 for a complete charge, corresponding to about a quart of gasoline), unless one has very strong feelings about cutting our petroleum usage at any cost.

I would think that charging at that price would limit customers to pure EV vehicles like the Leaf, who will pay whatever they have to if they need a charge. Kind of like the "last gas for 200 miles" gasoline station in desolate areas in the West.

5. janie