Warning Triangle but no codes

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by nimblemotors, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. nimblemotors

    nimblemotors Re Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    115
    35
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    A 2001 Prius is getting a warning triangle. No check engine light, and with my OBDII scanner,
    it shows there are no codes. I can erase and the triangle goes out, but it comes back on eventually.
    It seems only if the car is driven a long time/distance it comes on, indicating some heat issue perhaps.
    The 12v battery is good, the radiator coolant is good, the inverter coolant is good and flowing.
    The washer fluid hose is broken, could THAT give the death triangle??

    There must be a way to have the cars display whats wrong with the fancy software and touch screen??
    I hate the toyota dealer ripoffs but is that my only option to determine the problem?
     
  2. cwerdna

    cwerdna Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    12,544
    2,119
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    What scanner are you using?
     
  3. nimblemotors

    nimblemotors Re Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    115
    35
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Innova 3120 OBD-II

    Also, the car works perfectly normal, is getting over 50mpg
     
  4. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    25,443
    14,421
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    One problem I found with over-the-counter OBD scanners is they do not know how to read the codes from all the different, Prius ECUs. The Scangauge has been fairly decoded but I would use my AutoEnginuity, $500 plus a Windows PC, as Matt works hard to make it just as capable as TechStream-Lite.

    Bob Wilson
     
  5. nimblemotors

    nimblemotors Re Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    115
    35
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    $500 is a bit steep to debug a single problem. Can the ScangaugeII show the Prius codes if there is no Check Engine Light? I appears that using the XGauge it can show you Prius specific data reported, but that doesn't seem to mean it will show WHY the warning light is on.

    I read the sticky "AE Pig-tail and code flasher", but I could not really understand what was being said.
    It sounded like there was a way to read codes by connecting to the diagnostic port and get flashes, but it wasn't clear at all.

    My research/search found this link, Toyota Prius Controls
    which documents a "secret" way to get the display into a diagnostic display. But once again, this wasn't clear exactly, it described two taps done twice as "6 taps", and didn't really show it.
     
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    18,050
    12,118
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The car's various ECUs mostly communicate on the same electrical bus, but using different protocols, which tends to frustrate most efforts to see them all with a generic OBD-II scantool. Most tools will have no trouble communicating with the engine ECU (a/k/a ECM). XGAUGEs for the Scangauge II have been worked out for getting codes and parameter values from the Hybrid Vehicle and Battery ECUs (this is good because a lot of codes a Prius owner will care about are logged in those ECUs).
    Last I knew there was no success getting the SGII to detect the steering, antilock brake, airbag, climate control, immobiliser, or body ECUs.

    Happily for living on the cheap, most of those ECUs are also capable of signaling codes (but not other information like realtime parameter values) by blinking lights on the dash. The HV and Battery ECUs can't, but that's ok because the Scangauge II can see them. The steering ECU has a code-blink circuit that is actually carried through the wire harness all the way to the instrument cluster where it dead-ends on the circuit board, with no light. I added an LED and resistor there so I can get steering blink codes too. The multifunction display has a diag mode (the six-tap sequence you saw) where it can display the status of the various audio/nav devices on the AVC-LAN, which can be useful if you are adding aftermarket entertainment/nav bling. It also can show you the 12V battery voltage, which is downright handy if you've got no meter with you, though a Scangauge II can also show you that even with the key off, which is as convenient as it gets.

    There are even scannerless ways you can issue some, but not all, of the useful diagnostic/service commands. You can selectively clear codes from antilock, steering, or airbag; test the antilock wheel sensors, init and zero the steering. You can't get the brakes into bleed mode or crank the engine for a compression test (in theory, Scangauge II can send commands, but unlike figuring out the code reading XGAUGEs, nobody has wanted to experiment sending random commands around). So to do those things requires something like the Techstream scantool that can send the appropriate commands.

    As for brakes, at least the Gen 1 brake system is still simple enough that a person could probably bleed it successfully with a bit of ingenuity and one jumper wire. The Gen 2 pretty much closed the door on scannerless brake bleeding in any form.

    The scannerless procedures, code blinks, MFD diag display, etc., have nothing secret about them; they are all detailed in your service manual, which is a Really Good Investment, whether you buy it in bound paper form, or pay the small price of a 2-day TIS subscription and download it.

    -Chap
     
    bwilson4web likes this.
  7. Uncle Shane

    Uncle Shane New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    10
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all-

    This is the first thread I've seen with a problem similar to mine, so I thought I'd post a link to that discussion. I still haven't gotten to the bottom of the problem because the dealer always said they can't find any codes. If I find a solution I'll let you know.
    2006 enters fail safe after 3hrs of driving | PriusChat
     
  8. nimblemotors

    nimblemotors Re Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    115
    35
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    I bought a ScanGaugeII, and it has taken a week to get the warning triangle back, but finally got it,
    and the scangauge still shows "no codes found". Aaaarg. Is there something I need to do with the scangauge
    to have it found the prius codes?? It seems the triangle come up when the car was driven over 70mph for about 5-10 minutes, which wasn't done all week. I will try to confirm that is what causes it, but if so, what might that indicate?
     
  9. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    25,443
    14,421
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Vincent1449p is the expert but I would start with:

    Toyota Specific : Linear Logic : Home of the ScanGauge

    I have a list a home and will look it up.

    Using search, I found his most recent, master list:
    03' Classic Prius and scanguageII | Page 7 | PriusChat


    Bob Wilson
     
  10. Gen1guy

    Gen1guy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    47
    4
    0
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Find your local redneck repair shop... Odds are they have an older high end scanner.... Thankfully that older scanner may have asian software.. And slip the tech a $20 an be on your way...
     
  11. nimblemotors

    nimblemotors Re Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    115
    35
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Thanks for the link to the scangauge CMDS.
    However, it appears there are tables in those messages that are not formatted,
    maybe the new priuschat forum didn't get them right when it was switched.

    So I tried it, entering a cmd of 8316f1130ff00,
    and got back 87F1165330000000000011

    which indicates 3 DTCs following the 53, of 3000, 0000, 0000, so a P3000 code from the HV controller,
    which is a HV Battery Malfunction code. However, from what I found, this is just a reference to the Battery controller
    for the actual problem. I queried it (using D5 instead of 16 in the command, and got back a response the same as the cmd with a 5E appended. I can't tell if this means anything from my searching.

    Then the triangle turned off the second time I turned the car back on. I redid the cmd, and got back the same response,
    saying a P3000 code, and same from the Battery controller cmd. Clearing the codes, and try again, and same thing,
    so I'm wondering if this is really what I think it is?? shouldn't the codes go away if the triangle is off and codes cleared?
     
  12. vincent1449p

    vincent1449p Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    894
    331
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Hi nimblemotors,

    P3000 should at least have a subcode or Information Code. Can you try to see if you can get any response for all the 5 subcodes?

    Vincent
     
  13. nimblemotors

    nimblemotors Re Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    115
    35
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    vincent, how would I do that? what do you mean by 5 subcodes, what commands do I send?
    thanks, jack
     
  14. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    25,443
    14,421
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus


    I got the following e-mail from Vincent1449p:
    I asked if he would be OK if I transcribed it into PriusChat, table format with full attribution. He is in a different time zone so I won't know until Friday.

    Bob Wilson
     
  15. vincent1449p

    vincent1449p Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    894
    331
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Hi Jack,

    You have to use the Xgauge function. Here is a guide to enter the Xgauge parameters by Navguy12.

    The subcodes are the 3 digits code that gives you more detailed description of the problems. It is stored in the HV ECU if the Master Warning Light is lit.

    P3000.jpg

    Vincent
     
  16. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    25,443
    14,421
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Yea "vincent1449p"!!!

    I've entered your table as the most recent posting in the sticky.

    Thank you!

    Bob Wilson
     
  17. nimblemotors

    nimblemotors Re Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    115
    35
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    What is the variable to show that has the subcode ?
    I've looked at the scangauge toyota specific gauges, and don't see anything like a DTC subcode.
    There is soc, mg temp, etc, but i don't see anything about subcodes.
     
  18. vincent1449p

    vincent1449p Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    894
    331
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    The scangauge website has copied my older version but has not updated to my newer version. Bob has just pasted my latest version into the Sticky here.
    Column 1
    0 [TH]XGAUGE[/TH][TH]TXD[/TH][TH]RXF[/TH][TH]RXD[/TH][TH]MTH[/TH][TH]NAM[/TH][TH]Notes[/TH]
    1 [tr][td]INFO. Code 1[td]8216F101DF[td]0316044105DF[td]2810[td]000100010000[td]ic1[td]XXX [TR][TD]INFO. Code 2[td]8216F101AA[td]0316044105AA[td]2810[td]000100010000[td]ic2[td]XXX [tr][td]INFO. Code 3[td]8216F101B1[td]0316044105B1[td]2810[td]000100010000[td]ic3[td]XXX [tr][td]INFO. Code 4[td]8216F101B7[td]0316044105B7[td]2810[td]000100010000[td]ic4[td]XXX [tr][td]INFO. Code 5[td]8216F101BD[td]0316044105BD[td]2810[td]000100010000[td]ic5[td]XXX [tr][td]
    Vincent
     
    bwilson4web likes this.
  19. nimblemotors

    nimblemotors Re Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    115
    35
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Thanks Vincent, that is what I needed.
    I added the 1st and 5th, but both came up with zero as the value. I'm still stumped as to why i get
    the warning triangle. so far hasn't come back, even when going over 70mph for 5 minutes.
     
  20. vincent1449p

    vincent1449p Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    894
    331
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    How about the other 3? The Information code can show up randomly on any one, not necessary from 1 to 5 in sequence.

    Vincent
     
Loading...