Weird bluetooth issue

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by hummusdude, Feb 7, 2020.

  1. hummusdude

    hummusdude New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    9
    0
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Just got a 2010 in very good condition and overall I'm quite happy with it. I have a 2012 V that is going strong as well. But the 2010 has a weird connectivity thing where it will recognize my phone and allow me to make and receive calls hands-free but the audio player on my phone isn't recognized. Somehow, prius thinks it's connected to the previous owner's phone. When I go to the audio menu it shows a different phone is connected. It will prompt me to connect to a different phone even though my phone is already connected. If I follow the connect prompt it appears to connect to my phone again but really it's just the same condition as before. Wondering if there might be something akin to the hard reset function on a phone. Seems like prius is just confused about which phone is which. Doesn't seem to matter that I deleted all of the previous owner's phone IDs.
     
  2. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    3,242
    2,647
    1
    Location:
    NorCal (Non Bay Area)
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Is it a Microsoft phone? Most owners of those phone remain anonymous about brand.
     
    ASRDogman likes this.
  3. hummusdude

    hummusdude New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    9
    0
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
  4. Pluggo

    Pluggo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    515
    463
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Everyone's a comedian.
    upload_2020-2-7_21-13-38.png
    upload_2020-2-7_21-14-11.png
     
  5. hummusdude

    hummusdude New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    9
    0
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Thanks Pluggo. I confess I didn't know what to make of your post. My first thought was, "I've already connected my phone to prius so why is he suggesting I do that again?" But tonight I was exploring the car display screen menu options (Boy, there are a lot of options on this model!) and i somehow chanced up the "audio device" set up menu and my first thought was, "Why would Toyota design this so I have to pair my phone more than once?" Sure enough, when I opened up the menu there was the orginal owner's phones listed as current even though I'd deleted them in the phone menu. So I was able to successfully register my "audio device" in this redundant menu and now it works as it should.

    So the moral of the story is I was flummoxed by my assumption that Toyota would do it the same way they did with my 2012 V...one pairing per device and the audio input is smart enough to know which phone function is being used. I love this car already but man this audio device parsing thing is just plain comical in it's inanity.
     
Loading...