Welcome to the new PriusChat! Post your questions, bugs, suggestions here

Discussion in 'PriusChat Website Questions' started by Danny, May 30, 2012.

  1. timtim2008

    timtim2008 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    204
    22
    0
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    how can i get the old format PC?
     
  2. ProximalSuns

    ProximalSuns Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    1,877
    20
    27
    Location:
    PNW
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Forum software upgrade, kind of like Prius II to Prius III. Overall a better car with higher mileage but might do some things differently than older model, things some folks liked better. But overall, a better model with better tech and user interface.

    Use What's New button.
    Use Blue buttons next to messages for last unread by you.
    Use the Top button hidden way down on lower right to get back to top.

    Those basics and it works pretty well.
     
  3. cwerdna

    cwerdna Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    12,544
    2,118
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Can you please stop using references to "Prius II" and "Prius III" when referring to generations? Toyota's never called them that. It confuses newbies and causes further confusion when people are looking for used Priuses, esp. 2010s. I'm not sure if you're just doing it to bug people here.

    Per Toyota Vehicles : Toyota Announces Prices for 2010 Prius / Toyota, Prius II and Prius III are exactly the same age. III is not newer than II.
     
  4. stream

    stream Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    2,977
    451
    14
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    This is a bug that was reported earlier in the thread. My avatar is much larger than that "limit" and I had no issues (I'm on a PC using Firefox). Perhaps try Safari to upload your avatar pic.
     
  5. cwerdna

    cwerdna Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    12,544
    2,118
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I noticed that the original post at MY11 Prius | PriusChat seems to have been lost. The first story I think was Danny's own writing but Prius Team's original post is lost. Fortunately, it is quoted further down.

    Fortunately, there is a copy of the original Prius Team post at MY11 Prius - PriusChat Forums.

    I don't think this was intended. There might be some others that have been messed up.
     
  6. ozymandias

    ozymandias Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    83
    3
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I can't search individual forums or threads anymore...that really sucks. Being able to just click the "search" button in a forum or thread was the really easy way for me to find what I wanted. I hope you guys will consider adding this feature back!
     
  7. ftl

    ftl Explicator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    1,812
    790
    0
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Some pages have Text1 Text1, etc. instead of links:

    ForumBug.jpg
     
  8. Whiteyprius

    Whiteyprius Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    389
    104
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm enjoying getting back into the Priuschat family after a considerable hiatus - Of course my renewed interest is sparked because of the purchase of my 2nd Prius. Enjoying the new - easier to use format here! Just wondering though - My "status" by my profile was "reduced" to "New Member." Why is that? Thanks!
     
  9. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    16,577
    11,345
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Ok, assuming you'll eventually get those to work again, I just created another such post [post=1582358]here[/post], which is in [thread=111006]this thread[/thread]. ;)

    Any progress on making those work?

    Thanks,
    -Chap
     
  10. Rebound

    Rebound Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    3,930
    2,533
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Here's a bug report. It's pretty minor. If a thread title has the " character, the URL of the thread will contain a " character, and this cannot be pasted in as a link in your forum software. I hope I'm explaining this well enough for you to understand.

    I think you need to not include " characters in URLs which you generate.
     
  11. ProximalSuns

    ProximalSuns Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    1,877
    20
    27
    Location:
    PNW
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    New software reset everybody to new. Hey...it's America. Everyone gets a second chance.
     
  12. ftl

    ftl Explicator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    1,812
    790
    0
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    If you edit your profile you can put any wording you like in that field.
     
  13. cwerdna

    cwerdna Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    12,544
    2,118
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
  14. Danny

    Danny Admin/Founder
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    7,042
    1,862
    1,174
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Chap - That bbcode doesn't work anymore, so I was able to fix the ones that had already been created, but that won't work for future posts. Instead you can do a short link like this:
    Code:
    http://priuschat.com/posts/1582358
    or
    Code:
     http://priuschat.com/threads/111006
    Hmm... can you link to one for me?

    There's a search box on every page, and within that search box you can check the box to only search within the forum or only within the thread. I think you'll find that the search results are much more relevant now, too.
    Screen shot 2012-06-21 at 10.59.42 AM.png

    Not sure what I can do about those, yet.
     
  15. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,704
    487
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    How about adding an "Alert" button at the bottom of the page so we don't have to constantly scrolling back to the top of the page to see what the new alerts are? Also "Inbox" and "Watched threads" would be nice. Thanks!
     
  16. ProximalSuns

    ProximalSuns Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    1,877
    20
    27
    Location:
    PNW
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    There's a "Top" button hidden way on the bottom of the screen in the lower right. I was missing it for a while it's so small and hidden away.
     
    2009Prius likes this.
  17. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    16,577
    11,345
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I wonder if it's a better long-term plan to keep the codes working, perhaps with this XenForo add-on. The bbcodes are shorter, make it easy to specify an anchor, and make it easy to keep up with any future server config changes that might make the urls different. If you've actually gone through old posts and found all the places those old codes were used and changed them to hardcoded urls, that will make them require the same kind of attention again next time, if there's a next time.

    -Chap
     
  18. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,704
    487
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Thanks for the info! But it actually does not go to the top, just near the top. I still need to scroll the rest of the way to the real top to access the "Alert" button. :(
     
  19. ProximalSuns

    ProximalSuns Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    1,877
    20
    27
    Location:
    PNW
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    That's due to modification that Danny put in that puts an extra menu bar at the top. "Top" eliminates all the scrolling, kind of like the Google driverless car, it gets you to the garage door, you have to go the final inch yourself.
     
  20. Rebound

    Rebound Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    3,930
    2,533
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Sure, take a look at this post:
    For Sale - 17" PLUS FORGED wheels and tires! | PriusChat

    In Firefox, the URL is correctly formatted: 17-plus...
    But in Tapatalk, it gets formatted like so:
    Cool Inventions | PriusChat"-PLUS-FORGED-wheels-and-tires!.110813/

    If I paste that URL into a browser, it works, but I arrive at:
    For Sale - 17" PLUS FORGED wheels and tires! | PriusChat

    But in Tapatalk, the URL gets BBCODE wrapped around it, like this:
    17" Tires For Sale!
    And this doesn't work, because the quote character terminates the string. Maybe it's a Tapatalk bug?
     
Loading...