Welcome to the new PriusChat

Discussion in 'Prius, Hybrid, EV and Alt-Fuel News' started by Danny, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. efusco

    efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    19,886
    1,160
    9
    Location:
    Nixa, MO
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    No problems w/ QR using FF3 here
     
  2. Danny

    Danny Admin/Founder
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    7,018
    1,847
    1,174
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    That's really odd. I wonder if all of us having Quick Reply problems are using Macs.
     
  3. jayman

    jayman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    13,439
    628
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    The newer Mac's and Ubuntu 8.10 have a lot in common, eg Linux/Unix. Not sure why that would be causing a problem with quick reply.

    With one of my XP Pro machines, running SP3, it doesn't matter if I use IE 7 or FF 3, the quick reply works fine. With my Ubuntu machine, it does not work
     
  4. gerlando

    gerlando New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    14
    0
    0
    Location:
    Sammamish, WA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I think the new look is an improvement in that it's clean and less cluttered than the old, but it feels rather generic like you used a stock blog template. I think it has a lot to do with the logo.
     
  5. moxiequz

    moxiequz Weirdo Social Outcast

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    2,781
    18
    1
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I have the same quick reply problem at home on my Windows box. Also using Firefox 2.something there.
     
  6. Rae Vynn

    Rae Vynn Artist In Residence

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    6,038
    706
    0
    Location:
    Tumwater, WA USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It sounds like you have a corrupt cookie. Clear cache and cookies for your browser, restart the browser, try again.
     
  7. Rae Vynn

    Rae Vynn Artist In Residence

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    6,038
    706
    0
    Location:
    Tumwater, WA USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    No, it happens to me, on a PC machine, with Firefox, frequently (though not every single time)
     
  8. jayman

    jayman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    13,439
    628
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I posted in your other thread that I was able to reproduce the White Screen on my XP Pro SP3 machine running Firefox 3.0.6
     
  9. galaxee

    galaxee mostly benevolent

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    9,810
    437
    0
    Location:
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    i don't think i've used anything other than quick reply yet. running same os and ff version as jayman above.
     
  10. jayman

    jayman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    13,439
    628
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    N - Do you get the white screen freeze?
     
  11. galaxee

    galaxee mostly benevolent

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    9,810
    437
    0
    Location:
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    nope. i have no idea what you guys are talking about.
     
  12. jayman

    jayman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    13,439
    628
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    :confused:

    Now we have a mystery on our hands!

    Ok, I thought I did get Quick Reply to work with Firefox, but now that I thought it over, it actually was one of my Windows machines with IE 7.

    Whether my Ubuntu machine with FF 3.0.5, or Windows with FF 3.0.6, it appears that Quick Reply causes the White Screen freeze, with the status bar message "Stopped"
     
  13. HTMLSpinnr

    HTMLSpinnr Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    5,339
    910
    251
    Location:
    Surprise, AZ (Phoenix)
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    N/A
    Nope, happens on my Vista PC under FF as well.
     
  14. Fibb222

    Fibb222 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    1,499
    98
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    When it happened to me it said "waiting for GreenHybrid.com...." in the bottom left status bar.
     
  15. patsparks

    patsparks An Aussie perspective

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    10,664
    562
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide South Australia
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Are you logging out or just closing the window? I just close the window and don't log out and I have no problem.

    What is the spy thing and what is it for?
     
  16. Rokeby

    Rokeby Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    3,033
    707
    75
    Location:
    Ballamer, Merlin
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Pat,
    iSpy is a chronological listing of posts in all forums as they are
    made. It shows the first 100 or so characters in the posting so it's
    easier to see if the posting is of interest. Its especially useful to track
    comments in a thread that has drifted off topic, but is of continuing
    personal interest. Before the recent makeover it would refresh
    automatically. Now however, it requires user to <Refresh>.

    PriusChat Spy

    Combined with the View New Posts listing, which shows the threads
    to which posts are made, its a neat way to see whats being said
    across the broad range of topics currently of interest to PriusChat
    members.

    Hope this helps.
     
  17. SageBrush

    SageBrush Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    11,627
    2,518
    8
    Location:
    Southwest Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Danny, I'm curious who made the new home page logo and details of construction.
     
  18. patsparks

    patsparks An Aussie perspective

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    10,664
    562
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide South Australia
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks Rokeby, it does!
     
  19. paprius4030

    paprius4030 My first Prius

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    2,075
    289
    0
    Location:
    Ormond Beach,Fl.
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    No, I don't log out I just simply close the window like I've always done in the past, but it still doesn't remember me?? Guess I'm Unrememberable :hurt:
     
  20. avocadoman1

    avocadoman1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    178
    15
    0
    Location:
    Fallbrook-CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    doesn't remember me either...
    i use FireFox.
     
Loading...