1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What brand to purchase TransAxles from?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Ana Hernandez, Mar 12, 2016.

1. Ana Hernandez

Ana Hernandez Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello,

I've had some experiences already with different brands while purchasing Axles left & right/CV joints. Not even the original ones in the car had sign of a bad axle, boot in perfect condition, joints covered same for every other brand I bought after the first ones "went bad" (noticed thru symp. Of vibration at high speeds, clank when turn left or right & when accelerating). No physical noticeable defect, but I still hear clunks ONLY when accelerating, decelerating, braking, or releasing the brake, accelerating on hill or going back on a hill. Since people keep on suggesting they're bad CV joints, my question is:

What brand should I buy for people that be been thru this? Because Toyota wants the charge me around $3,000 for both sides. Any other less expensive trustworthy alternative brand?

2. tvpierce

tvpierce Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Will you be doing the work yourself? OEM Toyota parts HERE are $750 for both sides.

A little pricey, but of known good quality.

3. Ana Hernandez

Ana Hernandez Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Im
    I'm either doing it myself or having my mechanic do it. But I search it for my 04 on the link you provided and they don't add up for $750 to me, more like $900.

4. tvpierce

tvpierce Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    43420 Drive Shaft Assy/LH: $350.46
    43410 Drive Shaft Assy/RH: $400.47