1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What does 50% battery life mean in daily use?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Otium, Jul 6, 2021.

1. Otium

Otium New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I will apologize in advance for the noob question, but I am a noob and after a couple of fruitless hours of searching online I’ve decided to ask here. Mind you, I may have seen the answer and just not recognized it for what it was. This is my first hybrid.

Background: new to me 2014 Prius Two with 65k. It pretty much sat for the last year and was owned by a gent I know at the retirement home. I understand sitting isn’t good so I got it tested by a highly recommended shop locally.

It has 50% left in the hybrid battery and has 3 groups (6 cells) that need replacing. The owner was great showed me the live read outs from my car and pretty much lived up to his reputation. For $800 he will clean the battery ventilation system, replace the cells with new ones, and carefully balance/optimize (or whatever the word he used was) everything. Alternatively he is willing to install a new battery if I want, but recommended just the fix and milking the battery for another 50k or so.

So here is where I would appreciate input. What does 50% battery life remaining mean in a real world sense? Second, for that price is it worth just the little repair job or sucking it up for a new battery entirely?

Separately, I already have the long list of maintenance items I’ve already stated on myself including the EGR and OCC, but I don’t trust myself enough to I want to mess with high voltage so I’ll pay to have that prt done.

2. Grit

Grit Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Run. Don’t walk, run.

privilege likes this.
  3. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three