What happened to using Siri on a Prius Prime?

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-Current)' started by davidbw, Jun 27, 2020.

  1. davidbw

    davidbw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    110
    28
    0
    Location:
    In front of my computer
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I have a Prius Prime Advanced, 2017, and I use an iPhone X!. Up until 2 days ago I could access Siri on my iPhone by pressing and holding the off hook phone button on my steering wheel. Two days ago an Entune firmware was downloaded automatically. After that I can no longer access Siri. Is there a way to get Siri back? Assuming it was the firmware upgrade that caused this is there a way to remove the upgrade?
     
  2. mistermojorizin

    mistermojorizin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    254
    114
    0
    Location:
    usa
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Same thing happened with the Google assistant for me. It's Alexa. While the car's on, she takes over.
     
  3. mveras1972

    mveras1972 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    163
    56
    3
    Location:
    New Philachussetts
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I got the update as well and noticed the new Alexa app. However, Entune has to be actively running on your phone for Alexa to work. Kinda useless implementation. I haven’t tested Siri.


    iPhone ?
     
  4. schja01

    schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    1,226
    851
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I'm pretty sure the Entune Smartphone App needs to be running for any Entune App that requires Internet connectivity to work. That would apply for Alexa which is basically an skeleton app front end for processing "in the cloud". From what I recall if Entune wasn't running I couldn't run Pandora (RIP) etc. So this is nothing new.
     
  5. mveras1972

    mveras1972 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    163
    56
    3
    Location:
    New Philachussetts
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I run the other music apps just fine even if Entune is not open.


    iPhone ?
     
  6. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    6,258
    4,913
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    Aha! Battle of NLP apps. Toyota opted for Alexa over Siri and Google Assistant. I never used GA in my 2017 PRIME, but wonder what happens with my 2020 PRIME which came with Toyota +Alexa as a native app along with Entune3.0.
     
  7. schja01

    schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    1,226
    851
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Do you have the Toyota Entune App settings as "Location Always"? Then the app is technically always running.
     
  8. mveras1972

    mveras1972 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    163
    56
    3
    Location:
    New Philachussetts
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I don’t know. But I just know that I can always use iHeartRadio or Slacker any time I get in the car without opening Entune. But with Alexa it never responds unless I open Entune on the iPhone first. And whenever Alexa refuses to work I go to the Alexa menu on the car, it says to make sure Entune is open on my phone. I then have to open Entune on the phone again even if I just used it 5 minutes ago. It’s weird. The other Entune apps don’t do that.


    iPhone ?
     
  9. schja01

    schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    1,226
    851
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I have the amazon “echo auto” and from time to time it will tell me it’s lost communications with the Alexa app. Not often but it does happen. So rather than use some published Alexa api it’s talking to the Alexa app?
     
  10. mveras1972

    mveras1972 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    163
    56
    3
    Location:
    New Philachussetts
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I’m stuck in a loop with this whole Alexa thing. In my iPhone Alexa app, I read you can add skills to Alexa, and there is one called Toyota Remote. I enabled that on my phone Alexa app but then it says I need to link my account to Toyota which I did by following the prompt from the Alexa app which sends me to login to the Toyota owners website which I logged in, but then it says I don’t have any vehicles registered for remote services, but my Prime is already registered there. So I don’t understand what’s going on.


    iPhone ?
     
  11. mistermojorizin

    mistermojorizin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    254
    114
    0
    Location:
    usa
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Android here, but what happens is that when my phone connects to the bluetooth in my car, the entune app wakes up and I get a little toyota symbol shaped notification that keeps entune awake on my phone while I'm driving. I don't have to open the app itself. It's all automated. Once I disconnect from the car's bluetooth, the icon disappears and the phone's power management puts the entune app to sleep. Again, it's all automatic, so I don't see how the implementation is useless. Alexa itself works fine and seamlessly with the car's system. I just hate losing my google assistant on my phone, because I will ask it to do stuff while driving. I don't think Alexa can control anything on my phone, just on my car. It would be great to have Alexa control the car and still let assistant control the phone, because Alexa can't seem to do both.
     
  12. davidbw

    davidbw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    110
    28
    0
    Location:
    In front of my computer
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Well I ended up having problems with Siri on my iPhone even when I was not using my Prius. I ended up telling my Prius to forget my iPhone, and my iPhone to forget my Prius. I then completely backed up my iPhone, placed it in recovery/DFU mode, and restored it. Now everything works as well as they use to, and Siri Eyes Free works as well as it use to.
     
  13. mveras1972

    mveras1972 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    163
    56
    3
    Location:
    New Philachussetts
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    This is exactly what I was suspecting: it works great on an Android but useless on an iPhone. Usually it’s something to do with Apple’s iOS restrictions. So the whole framework of Entune shouldn’t be so dependent on the smartphone’s OS. If Entune was better designed so that apps can run without depending so much on your smartphone, it would work perfectly. It is doable but probably requires better hardware on the car’s computer and more programming on the developers used by Toyota. But they chose to go the cheap route and this is the end result: a half-working feature for iPhone users. In my case it’s even worse because I can’t use either Siri or Google Assistant anymore. I recall being able to choose which one I wanted to use by simply using the Bluetooth mic in the car to talk to Alexa, or Google Assistant or Siri running on the phone. Now, this update is not giving me any choices because they wanted to impose Alexa on everyone. Not a smart move.


    iPhone ?
     
Loading...