What Happens if you "borrow" a Maps SD card from another unit??

Discussion in 'Prius v Audio and Electronics' started by gromittoo, Aug 24, 2021.

Tags:
  1. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    673
    240
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    OK I posted a 2 months ago about how to upgrade the maps in my 2017 Prius V four. Apparently it is as simple as buying an SD card, removing the old one, and inserting the new one into the slot. They can be found for under $50 on either eBay or Amazon for this year's maps, and they appear to be universal to any Toyota MFD manufactured after about 2015.

    Well I decided to upgrade the 57011 MFD in my 2013 Prius V two, to a 510057 unit from a 2016. I purchased the unit on eBay from a seller with 100% feedback, and it included the cables. The unit arrived today, and there is no SD card in the slot. I didn't think to ask the seller if it had the card.

    My Question is this:

    If I take the Maps SD card that is currently in the MFD in my 2017 Prius V (510165 faceplate ID), and insert it into the eBay unit that arrived today, what would happen? My 57011 unit does not use SD Cards.

    Would the SD card from my 2017 still work if I inserted it into the eBay unit? I am concerned that since it was previously installed in another unit, Toyota might mark the card as "used" when you insert the card into a MFD, so that it can't ever be used in another vehicle.

    Would it be possible to buy a blank SD card at Best Buy, and clone the SD card by copying the files over?
     
  2. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,611
    795
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I found from the past that SD Cards are tricky little beasts. The SD stands for Secure Digital. It can be made non-writable and copy protected. I did get a HDD cloning software from hddguru.com but failed to clone my wife's C-MAX SD card (onto an ultra fast SanDisk) because not all SD cards of the same size are actually exactly the same size. You could try cloning it and see....
     
  3. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,611
    795
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Oh wait. You mean the new one is a HDD unit. Then it won't work as I believe it's a completely different system. Sorry didn't read carefully enough...
     
  4. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,184
    10,572
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Or is the one that doesn't use SD cards the old one, the 57011 that has been removed from the v to be replaced with the 510057? Meaning there just isn't a card in the old one that could be put into the new one?
     
  5. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    673
    240
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Well I installed the unit anyway. Turns out there was an SD card in there after all.

    That said, My Uber daily driver has 7 year old maps (May 2015), and the wife's car has one year newer (May 2016). I wouldn't mind upgrading them both, so the question remains, what happens if you buy one SD card, and clone it?
     
  6. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    673
    240
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    OK I didn't hit Refresh, and I didn't see all the new posts.

    I now own two vehicles that use SD cards, since I replaced the HDD unit (57011) with an SD Card unit (510057).

    My Daily Uber Driver is a 2013 Prius V two, which I upgraded the MFD from a 57010 non-nav to a 57011 Nav unit 3 years ago.

    I bought a 2017 Prius V in June, which my wife drives. When my 2013 hits ten years old in 2 years, I will swap cars. The 2017 came with a 510165 MFD unit, that is very similar to 510057 units used in a 2015-16 Prius V's. I love the unit in the 2017, and I decided to upgrade my 2013 a second time to a split screen / SD-Card unit. From my research, the Toyota part numbers for the SD cards are the same for all 510xxx units. Every year, when a new map is released, the part number increments by one.

    OK the 2016 vintage 510057 unit was delivered a few hours ago. At first I panicked, since I thought there was no SD card. Turns out that there was a card, just very hard to see. I installed the new unit, I plugged in the aftermarket GPS, and XM antennas in, and it works great! For some reason, it takes the GPS about 5 miles of driving to figure out that it is in Philly, not Van Nuys. When I went to "Delete All Personal Information" it took more than 5 minutes. A warning on the screen mentioned don't turn off, or remove the SD Card.

    All that said, I am very happy with the 510057 unit. The Nav is so much easier to see on the higher resolution screen. With the split screen, I can stop switching from Audio to Nav, and back again. Even on the split screen, I have the name of the street I am on, and my heading abbreviated as two letters. If I had a voice switch, I would be able to say "Play Classic Vinyl", and the radio would switch to XM.

    It would be nice to have updated maps, because new housing developments get built in rural areas that I am not familiar with, and several expressways have moved (along with the city streets around them). I could buy one update, and see if I can overwrite the old card with the new data.

    My one complaint is that the buttons on the new MFD are touch buttons, and the back-lighting is inadequate. I am hoping there is a setting for that.

    While I have the floor, I am in search of three items:
    1) Steering wheel Switches. Since my car was built as a two, it has an indentation where the "Voice Control" button should be.
    2) The air Vent above the MFD does not match the new MFD. It is more than color, it doesn't really fit right.
    3) The HVAC controls below the MFD does not match the new MFD. It is more than color, it doesn't really fit right.
    I need to find a U-pull-it that has the right car, cause I have already spent too much on this project.
     
    jzchen likes this.
  7. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,184
    10,572
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Probably started out expecting to hear from the GPS satellites that would have been overhead in Van Nuys at that time of day, and eventually thinking "hmm, I'm not hearing those, but I seem to be hearing these other ones. Hmm, where does that mean I am?"

    I remember how long that used to take with the first Garmin I ever had.

    My sense is that what Toyota spends on copy-protection measures to thwart you in that is probably a significant fraction of what they spend on the actual maps. Though I guess, as with the old DVDs, there are eBay sellers who have figured it out,
     
  8. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,611
    795
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    If you figure out a way to get into the diagnostics screens, yes as @ChapmanF notes the first time after moving to a significantly different geolocation it may take a long time to get a fix. I'm guessing it is checking as many satellites as possible and I've seen charts up to 12 spaces long. If it again takes a long time in consecutive opening then something may not be connected correctly, ie GPS antenna. It also may take a long time after not using for a long time as the clock goes out of sync...

    It wouldn't hurt to try I would guess. (I wouldn't personally do it as I'm a staunch intellectual property rights person, and my wife has a good job so I find it personally unnecessary to do such a thing. If my wife really needs a map update she can afford one. I won't help her do that....).

    You'll need a SD card that is larger or the exact same size as the original. Then try that software on that hddguru site. My wife complained about her old C-MAX nav being slow so I bought a super fast SanDisk and tried to clone it. The SanDisk although rated the same size was slightly smaller and wouldn't clone.

    I wouldn't spend money on those eBay ones. I bought from Amazon (marketplace) and the SD card was hacked. I could personally go in and change the copyright to any year I wanted. The data was old. The original SD could not be written to. This was for the CMAX no experience with the newer Toyota which I believe is Panasonic or Fujitsu. The older ones were Denso or Harmon Kardon...
     
  9. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    673
    240
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I expected the five minutes. When I bought the 57011 3 years ago, it took that long for the box to figure out that it was not in Phoenix. I know how to get to a good hidden diagnostic screen on the 57011, but not the new unit. In any case, it is working fine now.


    I would buy a card, and put it into my 2013, then that card I would experiment with.

    Don't know what CMAX is... But the 2015+ units use Pioneer extension boxes.

    The SD cards I am seeing on eBay have the Toyota logo and part number (86271-0E073 is May 2021).

    Here is the search results on eBay:
    Toyota 2021 Navigation Micro SD Card Update OEM 86271 0e073 for sale online | eBay

    If they are fraudulent, I would immediately take action with eBay's:
    eBay Money Back Guarantee
    Get the item you ordered or get your money back.
    https://pages.ebay.com/ebaybuyerprotection/index.html
     
  10. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,184
    10,572
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    If they are fraudulent? $40 for something Toyota sells at $169? Is their story that they're just getting a really great wholesale price break?

    Even at $40, they probably can afford printing of the Toyota logo and part number.
     
    JohnPrius3005 likes this.
  11. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,444
    885
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Is it possible to update the 57011 HU, and if so, how does one find a 'current' DVD?
     
  12. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,611
    795
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Sadly I am not clear by unit number. I believe you have a v FIVE IIRC but does it have Advanced Technology Package? Was it 2012? Sorry I forget the year....

    EDIT- Anyways the dealer parts department should know what you need to buy regarding activation card (for a HDD unit as I suspect). If you find they are charging exorbitant fees then you can find the USB on Toyota Service Solutions website:

    https://toyota.service-solutions.com/en-US/Pages/searchresults.aspx?search=TOYH

    for Harmon Kardon

    https://toyota.service-solutions.com/en-US/Pages/searchresults.aspx?search=TOYD

    for Denso
     
    #12 jzchen, Aug 25, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2021
  13. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    673
    240
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I have seen Toyota dealers selling the same map updates for less than $169. My dealer sells it for $151. I found another source that list it for $60:
    Toyota Navigation Micro SD Card GPS MAP Update | 2021 | USA Canada | 8 – GPS Update Store

    Here is a listing on Amazon for $54 with "free returns":
    Latest Maps Update Navigation gps Card 2021 Fit For 86271 0E073 PRIUS 4 Runner

    At $40, it is worth trying ($38 each if I buy 2). If it does not work, I just use the "eBay Money Back Guarantee".

    IMHO $40-$60 is a fair price for a map update, considering that the same amount of money would buy you "Lifetime Updates" for a Garmin or TomTom with money left over.

    The cost of creating the update is now a fixed cost, and the raw data is available as open source (free, or nearly free). The SD card itself is well under $20. It no longer takes a dealer or access to TIS to unlock the update. The same card works in just about every Vehicle Toyota has sold since 2015 in the US and Canada, so volume of sales of these cards would generate more income for Toyota if they lowered the price to what the market would bear.

    If the update cost $20 from Toyota, I would buy one every year. If it was $40, every couple of years. By the time you reach $160, it basically means I won't update, I'll just use my phone.
     
  14. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,184
    10,572
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Sure, that's ten or eleven percent off, I'm not unused to seeing actual Toyota dealers mark things down even twenty or thirty percent from MSRP.

    I don't have any doubt that such sellers and offers exist; they're not even hard to find.

    I'm only saying it's ... hmm ... fanciful ... to imagine that they are selling authentic product, no matter what logo or number they print on it.
     
  15. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,444
    885
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five

    The 57011 Head Unit is what came new in the 2012 Prius v Five (no ATP), suggested to be a DVD-based navigation database.
     
  16. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,611
    795
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Betting it's Harmon Kardon. Did you find a DVD map to eject?
     
  17. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,444
    885
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    No joy. Not sure it's HK. P/N is 86140-47020. The map database is apparently DVD-based, though I haven't found reference to a DVD for that P/N.
     
  18. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    673
    240
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    - My 2013 Prius V two came with a 57010, which did not have an extension box.
    - I have my 57011 sitting here on the floor next to me. It has the dreaded Harmon extension box. I bought it 3 years ago to upgrade my two, to have Nav. It came out of a 2014 three that died in Phoenix Az. I was able to buy an aftermarket GPS antenna for cheap.
    - I have seen 57012 units for sale, which is what I thought were the standard unit for a five.

    When I looked into upgrading the maps in the 57011, it did not involve a CD or DVD. To do it, you would buy a code for $169 from Toyota. next you would boot the unit with a special USB thumb drive. The unit would display a unique ID. You would then pay for access to the TIS website, and enter the numbers, and "Key Server" would be generate an unlock key. This is very
    similar to how Cable and Satellite TV boxes get authorized.

    It was way too expensive, and too many places to go wrong. It is cheaper and easier to upgrade the unit to a Facelift unit, and buy the SD card.

    BTW:
    The 510057 unit is awesome. I did Lyft last night, and here are the reasons I love the unit:
    1) The LCD panel is higher resolution. The font for the street names is much easier to read, even when confined to half the screen.
    2) The Nav app has a compass (no compass in the 57011 unit). It is just 'E', 'SE', 'S', 'SW', 'W', 'NW', 'N', 'NE', but when you are lost in the New Jersey Pine Barrens at night, that is valuable information. Google says: "Head Northeast on Pine Backwater Road", and I say which way is that?
    3) The split screen means no more switching back and forth between Audio, and Nav!
    4) I contacted Sirius XM today, and got a $2.12 six month free trial for my unit! I bought an aftermarket XM antenna with the SMB male connector on it. It plugs right into the back of the unit, but does not have the plastic part that the OEM plug would have. It stays in place, but there is no strain relief.

    What I really need now is the "Voice Command" button on the steering wheel. In the 2017, I can press that button and say "Play XM Classic Vinyl", and it plays. Since my 2013 began life as a "two", the place where the Voice Command Button would be is a fake button. You would think that I could find a steering wheel with a blown out airbag for real cheap ($80 is the cheapest I found). The part number for the switch only is 84247-47200-B0. It is used in most gen 3 prii that had at least a three trim level.

    [​IMG]
     
    jzchen likes this.
  19. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,611
    795
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Thanks @gromittoo for sharing your experience and knowledge. I forgot the step where you get a code from the navigation unit....

    I upgraded my '14 Scion iQ with the Harmon extension box. I have yet to update the maps from what I can tell the SCIH USB updates stopped a long long time ago...
     
  20. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    673
    240
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I forgot that the antenna is actually sold under the Sirius XM brand name. Very important: it has a straight connector on it. Most aftermarket XM antennas have a right angle plug. The right angle plug might fit into the Toyota jack, but I did not want to go through the trouble of returning it if it did not fit. I paid $21.99 + tax on Amazon for a branded unit. There are cheaper units with the right angle SMB male plug.

    BTW: I drove for Lyft again last night, but this time with the XM radio. At first I was in the outer suburbs with hills and trees. I had frequent dropouts of signal (especially with hills). I was surprised that trees were a problem, since there is a 5 second buffer. In Philadelphia itself, it worked flawlessly, even in the "roofed over" sections of the Vine Street and Delaware Expressways (where normal FM drops out).

    I picked one particular XM channel called "the Groove" that plays Soul / R&B (XM 50). While it is not my music, I can listen to it. The channel was well received by my African American passengers. XM lists it as from the 70's and 80's, but the younger passengers seemed to appreciate it as well.

    This is the whole point of having curated commercial free stations that are not necessarily my taste. I am waiting for a LatinX passenger to tell me which channel works for them.
     
    jzchen likes this.
Loading...