1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What kind of oil!?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by FirstFlight, Feb 28, 2011.

1. FirstFlight

FirstFlight Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Guys, I'm really confused. I'm not a mechanic as my job is dealing with maintaining/designing electronic devices. I want to change my own oil but I don't know the best type to use. I'm in Northeast NJ and my Prius has 119K miles. The records indicate the previous owner has changed his/her oil at 5K.

Can someone help me to choose the right oil? Synthetic/not synthetic, 0W-20, 5W-20, etc. I've read other threads but people seem to have conflicting information.

2. Hal W

Hal W New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    If you change every 5000 miles then I would use 0-20 regular oil. Maybe Toyota brand? Synthetic 0-20 maybe double the mileage? Something like Mobil1, Pennzoil platinum, Aimsoil. Hal

3. dinger_greg

dinger_greg New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Do you know if the original owner used regular oil or synthetic? If synthetic was used by the previous owner, I would continue using it. If you plan on changing the oil at longer intervals, I would use synthetic. Otherwise dino oil works great!

4. snead_c

snead_c Jam Ma's Car

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    It sounds like the engine was well maintained. I use Mobil 1 0W-30 all year round. It only takes approx. 3.5 qts so any good brand of oil will do and not cost too much...esp if you continue 5K intervals. Amazon has good Purolator filters for $5.00 each
    Purolator PL14476 PureONE Oil Filter, Pack of 1

:cheer2:

5. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two