What order to install cells

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by Todd Huffstetler, Feb 14, 2020.

  1. Todd Huffstetler

    Todd Huffstetler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    15
    0
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Checked voltages all at or right at 8volts did a load test all passed put it back in and drove 100 miles and triangle of death came in with the different voltage something something . Took it back out and doing a one cycle charge to get mAh . Some are 2000 something most hight 3 to 8000 something . My question is I will change out all 2000 mAh something , with this done what order do I install the cells from PC side high to low or I even herd middle going high to low going left to right .
     
  2. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,244
    2,991
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It does not matter one bit.
    It's all made up hocus hocus.

    If your modules are truly at 3,000mah that is horrible.

    That is less than half the original capacity.

    What does it look like when you check live data while driving with Techstream? (Cost you less than $100)
    That should give you a good idea which ones are duds.
     
  3. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    3,945
    2,089
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    How did you load test? How can they pass a load test and be 2-3 Ah to 8 Ah of variation? I seriously question how those old modules that started off life as 6.5 Ah can now be 8 Ah. Something is a bit hokey in your methodology.
     
  4. Todd Huffstetler

    Todd Huffstetler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    15
    0
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I'm new to this and trying to learn , I load tested with a 12 volt electric motor . I tested voltage before applying load and as load was applied . If say it was an 8 volt at test and when load was applied it did a drop to 5 or 6 volts then I tossed the cell . Instead of discharging charging three times I just did it once to see where I stand on the cells . So some are at say 2456mAh and others are st 5678mAh to 7890mAh I would guess the 2456mAh cell is bad causing the code to come in after a period of driving as the battery would not hold a charge as long ?
     
  5. Todd Huffstetler

    Todd Huffstetler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    15
    0
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I have yet to buy techstream on the low there is like three that are say 2345mAh and around the same at say three at 3456mAh and the rest are 4567mAh to 7890mAh . If I get cells all from say 4567mAh to 7899mAh would that be ok and how would I place them in the pack . Thank you
     
  6. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,244
    2,991
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It does not matter how you place them in the pack. Not oat all.

    It would be best if all the cells were similar voltage when you place them in the pack.

    (It would be even better if they are similar capacity, but you really don't have any control over that. Unless of course, you have a large supply of many extra modules to choose from?)
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  7. Todd Huffstetler

    Todd Huffstetler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    15
    0
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I did but I was stupid and was placing them on eBay and selling them , I guess I have about 12 left and without having tested them I'd bet at least half are bad . Lol looks like I'm deep enough into it at this point that I will be back on eBay buying some back . I love the car and when it runs right it's a great little gas saver .
     
Loading...