1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What to look for: heated seats, side view mirrors?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by MichelleRx, Nov 25, 2011.

1. MichelleRx

MichelleRx New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi! I'm a total newbie here.

I'm considering switching to a used Prius from my (very well loved) Subaru because I'm finding I drive a lot more recently.

It's pretty cold here in Minnesota, so I'm hoping to find a Prius with both heqted side mirrors as well as heated seats for more pleasant winter driving. Do you know if this was typically sold as a package here in the States? If so, do you know which base level or package this would be considered?

I'm also wondering what to look for in a Prius. I've heard I should look for stability control, but I'm looking at 2008 models or later, and I assume this was a standard option. Is there anything I should absolutely check for in a used Prius? Anything I should be aware of that is quirky to the car itself?

Thanks for your help!
    MichelleRx

1 person likes this.
  2. MichelleRx

MichelleRx New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    One more question -- I am often in an area with tons of pedestrians and bikers. I've heard that Toyota was considering adding a fake motor sound so people could hear the Prius coming more easily. Is this something that ever came to fruition? I actually would be interested because I potentially see this as a problem when driving through the main University area. (my friend's dog recently was a quiet Prius fatality while walking on a leash, so I'm a little more nervous about this now; I've also been surprised by quiet hybrids as a pedestrian myself...)

3. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello and :welcome: to PriusChat!