1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What Was a Fuse Problem Now Might Be Much Bigger?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by biologistwithoutaclue, Feb 7, 2019.

1. biologistwithoutaclue

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I am a relatively new Prius owner (first car, college student) with a 2007 2G Prius. Never really had any issues with the car until I started having major fuse problems this week. I have an aftermarket Bluetooth device (HIMBOX) that plugs into the center console power outlet. I've been using an AmazonBasics adapter since August 2018 and never had a problem; I also have another AmazonBasics adapter in the front power outlet on the passenger's side that I use to charge my phone so that I don't overload either adapter.

A few days ago, I was having a couple minor issues with the Bluetooth, so I decided to unplug the adapter and plug it back in. This seemed to blow the fuse (#24; 15 amps) for the two outlets, which had been an infrequent occurrence according to the previous owner of the car. I changed the fuse and thought I had solved the problem.

I turned on the car, plugged in the fuse....and it blew again. Repeated the process, and blew again...repeated five times total, still continued to blow. The outlets both seemed to work until I plugged in the Bluetooth into the center console. A few days later, I again tried to fix the fuse with no success, so I tried to give it a slightly higher amp'd fuse (25 amps; now in retrospect, after doing research, I realize was absolutely stupid, but I hadn't done the research prior) and the higher fuse still blew. So I tried 30.

The outlets again blew, and I turned off the car. The 30 amp fuse didn't appear to be broken, but the outlets weren't working, so I put back a 15 amp fuse, turned on the car...and my MFD, clock, radio, and side mirrors are down, as well as the outlets.