1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What was your most expensive Prius repair?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by jstanle12001, Mar 6, 2009.

1. jstanle12001

jstanle12001 New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I am a newbie Prius owner who just purchased a 2007 with 52,000 miles. My bank is offering an extended bumper to bumper warranty fo 48 months or 48,000 miles for $2090! I think that is outrageous and I am considering putting aside $2000 in a car repair account. So I was wondering what some of the bigger repairs might cost and if you think this is a good idea vs. buying extended warranty.

TIA:)

2. jayman

jayman Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Well, I suppose if you grenaded the PSD off warranty, that could be a $4,000 touch. Ditto if you jump start the Prius using wrong polarity and fry the inverter.

Otherwise, I see little need for an extended warranty. Not sure if an extended warranty would cover an improper jump start anyway

3. richard schumacher

richard schumacher shortbus driver

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Anecdotes are not statistically valid. Judging from Consumer Reports' data, unless a Prius has been in an accident an extended warranty is a waste of money. Your plan to bank that amount is an excellent alternative: you'll earn interest, and you'll probably never have to touch it.

1 person likes this.
  4. firepa63

firepa63 Former Prius Owner

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Most likely the "extended warranty" from a bank wouldn't cover a hybrid. They are pretty generic insurance policies.

As for the most expensive repairs, I had to replace tires once on my 2004.

5. patsparks

patsparks An Aussie perspective

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    See signature
    I spent $25 to repair the display screen!! Very disappointing.

6. hyo silver

hyo silver Awaaaaay

Vehicle: