1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What's the deal with Prius Hate

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Dweezil, Feb 17, 2011.

1. Dweezil

Dweezil Cat Juggler

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I've been driving for 30 years...wow, I never thought about it, that really makes me feel old! Anyway, I've gotten the occasional "one finger salute" or a cuss word from another agitated driver in my many years of driving, just like anyone else. However, since I've had the Prius, I seem to catch flack from other drivers all the time.

Today, a man (I'm guessing in his mid-50's) in a pickup truck drove up next to me, red faced, cussing me out like I was a satan loving baby eater because I put my blinker on and proceeded into his lane...with plenty of space, moving with the flow of traffic. I didn't cut him off, I didn't get in his lane and slow down. I just got in his lane so I could make an eventual left turn that was coming up. I've done this maneuver for 30 years, and never got anything more than a glance or a nod. I'm not a tree-hugging hippie, I'm not an uber Republican, an uber Liberal, or an uber anything. I don't have any offensive bumper stickers...I'm just an ordinary biped driving from point "a" to point "b" in a car...just like the rest of the driving population. What is it about the Prius that enrages people so much? It's just a friggin car. This was one of my main fears of purchasing a Prius...People hating them just for the sake of having something to hate. It really is crazy. I guess people just gotta have something to hate.

2. ItsNotAboutTheMoney

ItsNotAboutTheMoney EditProfOptInfoCustomUser Title

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    What happens is the following sequence of events:
    1) Reasonable person does something completely reasonable
    2) Unreasonable person gets unreasonably aggrieved
    3) Unreasonable person focuses on reasonable person