What's the skinny on a 57032 HU replacement for 2012 Prius?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Midpack, Mar 5, 2018.

  1. Midpack

    Midpack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    461
    43
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    After going thru this with our TCH, where Toyota wanted $4200 plus labor to replace the unit when the screen died after 7 years, I was able to have my display replaced by an outfit in CA. They provided a video to remove the old unit, send it in, and they returned it with instructions on reinstall all for $385. And that unit was still going strong after another 4 years when we traded the car in recently.

    The 57032 nav HU in our 2012 Prius started sporadically saying "system not installed" when we pressed Apps, sometimes it worked fine, sometimes no dice. This past weekend the display went black, though if you press any button the correct display appears and flashes off after about 2 seconds. So I assume this isn't a simple display failure like the TCH, I'm in for a total replacement.

    I'm not inclined to even ask dealers service department as I know they'll charge 5-10 times the cost of a (way more) sophisticated iPhone - which is robbery. So who can we trust for a replacement 57032? I see them at various sites, and eBay, and I assume there are others here who have had good and bad experiences?

    I'm about done with Toyota after two potentially costly nav failures. The TCH was replaced with a Subaru already...:mad:

    [​IMG]
     
    whitmanrf likes this.
  2. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    13
    11
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I just replaced a 57031 with a 57032 in my 2015 Prius, was surprisingly easy. (There's a few YouTube videos on how to do this.) I bought my head unit off eBay for $160. Per another thread regarding the swap, someone suggested running the Entune update. Check out this link and maybe try doing the update on your radio? It can't get any worse..

    Toyota Downloads
     
    MFaulkner likes this.
  3. padroo

    padroo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    2,762
    2,221
    13
    Location:
    Chesterton, Indiana Another third world country.
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Looks good.
     
  4. Midpack

    Midpack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    461
    43
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

    I tried to update long ago, and it didn't take, but I'd forgotten about it. It took a long time this time because I had to wait for the head unit to work fully again - it's been sporadic for months!!! But I finally caught it on a good day, successfully ran the update, and VOILE - it's worked without a hitch for about a week now. We're about to trade the Prius in, so the prospect of having to put money into a replacement head unit for the benefit of the next owner wasn't appealing.

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU (did I say that already?).
     
    Michelle W likes this.
  5. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk 'Orrible Oracle

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    38,361
    27,154
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Musing: our 2010 (CDN) Touring has no (nav) screen, and I can recall when the 2012 came out, seeing with some dismay that was no longer an option: they ALL have the screen. I'm not really sure why the dismay, maybe a sense that it's a cheapening of the dash, often a shortcut by manufacturers, who toss more essential controls into that touchscreen, an interface that requires more and more of your undivided, eyes-off-the-road attention.

    $4200 plus labour to replace a "frill": that could total the car. Cavalier manufacturers are apparently ok with numbers like that.

    We had a similar kitchen range: nothing mechanically wrong with it, but the touch screen electronic went on the fritz, and the replacement of that little bit rivalled the cost of a new range. We turfed it for new, and of course the new one was thinner sheet metal all-round, smaller bottom drawer, one 110 volt (vs 2 on the old).
     
  6. Midpack

    Midpack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    461
    43
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    While Toyota is more than happy to gouge customers at $4,000+ plus labor, reconditioned units are readily available at around $350 and not hard to replace DIY, there are YouTube videos on how. They wanted to charge $4,200 plus labor to replace the nav unit in our Camry - I did it for $385 including shipping and it worked perfectly for years. It was still working when I traded the Camry in Jan.

    BTW, the software update that fixed my Prius nav issue, the local dealer offered no option other than a $4,200 replacement.
     
Loading...