1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Where are links as what to look for when buying used (private) Gen 2?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by gemniii, May 7, 2016.

1. gemniii

gemniii New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm probably going to buy a used Gen 2.

I've been buying used cars off and on since 1967, so I know about check the brakes, etc.

But I don't know diddly YET about things like traction batteries or Prius inverters.

I tried searching here but could not find a thread pointing out specific things to check that are failure points on the Gen 2.

Hopefully next week I'll be looking at a 2004 w/ 44K and a 2005 w/ 84K.

This car will probably be replacing a 2004 Honda Civic Hybrid and one of the features why I want a Prius is it's ease to be used as a backup 3KW generator.

Any pointers will be appreciated.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome! not sure there is one in particular, but i know the question has been asked many times. check the gen 2 stickies. all the best with your purchase!(y)

edit: i just searched; 'what to look for when buying a used prius', and came up with 3 hits. you have to try a lot of different key words, search engine is weak. you might even try google.

there are so many different things that can go wrong with a prius, you do want to be careful.

how old and how many miles?besides the battery, which has an 8 year/ 100,000 mile warranty, when miles start climbing above 100k there are many potential issues that can crop up, however infrequent.it's important to get 2 key fobs, or be prepared to go through some hassle and at least $100.

the mfd is prone to going dark and needing repair/replacement.
    the a/c is electric and a costly repair.
    the brake actuator is a costly repair.
    the gas tank bladder can be an issue.