1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Where do I begin Crash / No start

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Whitfimb, Nov 26, 2021.

1. Whitfimb

Whitfimb Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Prius01.jpg

Taking a trip to pick this one up ~ Crashed & Down 12 months ~ Where to start? Inspect Battery+ 12V fuse @ Battery and MAIN 140A at the front fuse box behind drivers headlight / under hood and then CAUTIOUSLY jump the 12v from under the hood? I can access the rear hatch unlatch and could jump from 12V battery if necessary.

The car was hit 11/24/2020 and has been sitting since. Wife's friend has been doing COVID travel nursing and bought a new one since her son's accident. She wants this one gone and has asked me to come and get it. I am an X-auto tech / State inspector and mechanically inclined but Hybrid illiterate. The airbags did not deploy. Research here has brought my attention to the DC fuse at the 12V battery +, and the main 140A fuse on the right front fuse box. I am also aware that I must check all fuses and inspect harnesses/connections of those I find to have failed.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    hard to say. after a year, you might want to bring a fresh 12v with you, a grid charger or good hybrid battery, and the wiring diagram from the service manual.
    or just bring roller skates and a flat bed tow truck.

3. Whitfimb

Whitfimb Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I brought a trailer, stout floor Jack, jump pack, and some diagnostic stuff.