1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Which 2018 Trim and a few other questions before I buy

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by Autumn Willows, Feb 23, 2018.

1. Autumn Willows

Autumn Willows New Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hello everyone! I am new to the hybrid and Prius world, so I hope someone out there can give me some advice before I purchase. My questions:

1) In your opinion, which 2018 trim should I go with Two or Three and why?
    2) I live in an area that does see it's share of snowfall per year. How well does a Prius handle in the snow?
    3) Side moldings, yes or no?
    4) What is typical annual maintenance on a Prius and is it pricier then a regular gas car?
    5) I know it's early in the year, but has anyone encountered anything yet they didn't like about the 2018 models?
    6) Finance or lease? (Typically I like to keep my cars for years. I currently have a 1998 Corolla that I bought new, but someone I asked did bring up a good point in that perhaps years down the road I may want to lease because technology is always improving.)
    7) Any advice of what to watch out for/avoid/or do for when I go into the "lion's mouth" (AKA Toyota Financing Dept)?

Thanks!

2. goinskiing

goinskiing Active Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    1. I ended up getting the Two Eco (for the price of the 2) and for my uses the Three's upgrades weren't worth it for me. SofTex, Audio Nav, and Qi charger didn't justify it in my opinion, though the Li-ION on the Two Eco and Three are awesome.
    2. The Prius has always handled well in the snow for me (Boise) and we had 4 inches yesterday and it handled it like a champ.
    3. I will be getting side molding down the road.
    4. Not sure, would be curious on this as well, but first two years have Toyota care.