1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Why do my Windows Fog up so Much???

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by PriusBull, Apr 11, 2013.

1. PriusBull

PriusBull Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I am new to the priuschat. I just wanted to know why the windshield and windows fog up so much. I know if I put on the air it will clear the window up but as soon as I stop it starts to fog again. When it is cold outside or rainy this happens a lot. I try not to use the fans to save on the gas and get the best MPGs. Anyways I had a 2009 Honda civic and never had such an aggressive problem with the windows fogging up. Is there a reason for this or is it just me???

2. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Not using the fans is probably your problem. The windows are fogging up because there is a temperature differential between the outer and inner glass. Venting in outside air will help.

Also, keep the inside surfaces clean.

PriusBull likes this.
  3. SageBrush

SageBrush Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I'll rephrase your question: why is the humidity high enough, and heat inside the car low enough to fog up the windows ?

If you know the outside humidity and heat, your inside cabin temperature, and think about anything people in the car are doing to add water to the air, your answer may be answered. E.g., a new habit of taking hot coffee into the car would do it.

Short answer: crack a window.

Sort of short answer: Some people ignore the physics and just apply rainX to the inside window. I gather one possible downside to this approach is an increase in glare in certain situations.

PriusBull likes this.
  4. PriusBull

PriusBull Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two