1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Why no more V style PiP

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by PrangleyPiP, Dec 6, 2017.

1. PrangleyPiP

PrangleyPiP New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Base
    I'm very new to the PiP world and am likely buying a 2013 over the next week or so.

I guess I'm just wondering how the old style that i am looking to buy has worked out?

I notice that they no longer make a V style version and now have the prime instead. Was there a reason for this shift?

They are asking $17950 for a PiP that has 73k on it. That's on par of cheaper than regular style Prius Vs as far as I can tell.

Anyways, any info would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

Pluggo likes this.
  2. Pluggo

Pluggo Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    In 2016 no PIPs were built. Instead, Toyota took the year off to develop the Prime with double the EV range. I think the price you were given would be a bit high for most cities in the US, even for the Advanced model, but it may still be OK in Ontario.

PrangleyPiP likes this.
  3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

there has never been a V style version of the pip, if you mean the prius wagon.

the gen 1 pip has the same body type as the gen 3 lift back prius, and the new prime plug in has the same body style as the gen 4 lift back prius, but with different looking front and rear.

if $18,000 is a good price in your area, go for it, and all the best!(y)

Mendel Leisk, PrangleyPiP and Pluggo like this.
  4. PrangleyPiP

PrangleyPiP New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Base
    Well I'll be.. those cars look really similar in pictures.. huh. So it's a bit shorter and less bulby than the V.