1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Will Leaving Prius Parked Regularly Cause Battery Issues?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by UNCBlue, Sep 22, 2016.

1. UNCBlue

UNCBlue New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I am looking at purchasing a used 2009 Prius package 6 with 76000 miles. The service records seem to indicate that it has been well-maintained and it is listed for $9500. I do intend to have it checked by a Toyota dealer before making the purchase.

My question is with regard to the battery, specifically the traction battery. Since I am currently a college student living on campus, I will not likely be doing any driving during the week. I will be driving at least 50 miles or more every weekend, but during the school year that is pretty much the extent of the driving I will be doing. I have heard that it is bad for the longevity of the battery for it to sit for extended periods of time. I obviously want the battery to last as long as possible before requiring a costly replacement (if that day does come while I own the car). Will I be heavily abusing the battery by leaving the car parked for about 5 days at a time?

Thank you!

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    It probably will be best you don't buy a prius with your usage. It'll be cheaper using uber.

A battery will go out of balance if not used regularly.

If you need a car, want to pay the high insurance costs, registration, repairs, maintenance, depreciation etc for 50 miles of driving a week, then just buy a regular non hybrid. You are only driving 3000 miles a year.

3. jeff652

jeff652 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II