Will one SKS fob run two priuses?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by pndwind, Dec 29, 2014.

  1. pndwind

    pndwind Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    35
    5
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have a 2005 and a 2006 both with sks can one fob be programmed to run both cars?
     
  2. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    13,986
    6,669
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    That would be a crazy idea if it worked. So if you sold one of the cars, the buyer can come back for your 2nd car?
     
  3. pndwind

    pndwind Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    35
    5
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Or when my wife leaves she can take both.
     
    Scallywag likes this.
  4. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    6,509
    2,293
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Most people complain about interference between two SKS systems because it is a bad thing. How hard is it to keep two different SKS fobs?

    My wife and I haven't had any problems with our two Toyotas. ;)
     
  5. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,288
    895
    68
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    The "plug the fob in the dash" function can be registered for any number of vehicles. There is a limit of 5 registered fobs for each vehicle. Since a fob can only know about one vehicle ID, the remote functions are limited to a single vehicle.

    It makes sense to me to cross register the fobs. That way you have the option of using the "wrong" fob if it's the only one available. But that's an emergency backup, not an every day usage. You'll still have to have a mechanical key to lock/unlock the driver's door.
    You could have a locksmith recode the mechanical lock in one of the cars to match the other car.

    This is all specific to 2004-2009 models. 2010+ are different.
     
  6. Scallywag

    Scallywag Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    107
    21
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    By "remote functions" are you referring to the remote lock/unlock only or the SKS functionality or both?
    It's interesting to me that the key ever gets programmed, rather than each key simply having a unique ID which it broadcasts and the car recognizes.
     
  7. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    7,801
    5,445
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Only if you forgot to unregister that fob from the car you kept.

    I understand this thread's about Gen 2 and I've got a Gen 1, so the procedures might not be the same, but mine has a 'forget all except this one' function, so you don't need to still have the one you're unregistering ... even if you only remember to unregister it after the buyer is gone, you still can. You just tell the car to forget all except the one you're still using.

    Still sound so crazy?

    -Chap
     
  8. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    13,986
    6,669
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Yes it's still a pretty crazy idea. I would be interested to know if anyone has used 1 fob to start 2 cars.
     
  9. CrazyLee

    CrazyLee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    151
    23
    0
    Location:
    Muskegon, MI USA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I have a little different question about fobs. I have a 2004 base Prius and I accidentally bought a silver logo fob SKS. It can't be programmed to open the doors but can run the car. I was thinking about buying a black logo fob and either keeping the SKS fob it for an emergency or de programming the fob from my car and selling the fob. My question is can I de program the fob?
    I know that I can delete the fob from my car.
    I have a mini-vci to do that with.
     
  10. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    13,986
    6,669
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I think you should be able to sell that FOB as is. It didn't get completely programmed. Maybe you can list it for sale here and someone will take a chance on it.
     
  11. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,288
    895
    68
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    There are actually 3 different electronic locking systems on a Gen2. The "plug in the dash" one is an ordinary transponder chip that is used in most modern cars. It is used in both SKS (silver logo) and non-SKS (black logo) vehicles. Note that the power to operate the transponder comes from the car, thus the condition of the fob battery is irrelevant for "plug in the dash" operation.

    The black logo fob is a transmit-only device, which the car is trained to recognize. I suppose a single black logo fob could be registered on multiple vehicles, although they would soon get out of sync with the rotating usage code. Each time a fob key is pressed, a usage count is incremented, and the car expects that count to be within some small range of expected numbers. Too many usages on one car would put the number out of range on the other car.

    The silver logo fob has a receiver in it that listens for a car broadcast. The range is about 3 feet and includes a unique vehicle id. The vehicle id is programmed into the fob if the fob has never been registered, OR if the vehicle has zero currently registered fobs. There are 5 car transmitters located in both front doors, the console, inside the trunk, and outside the trunk. The location of the fob is determined by which car transmitter causes the fob to reply.

    The silver logo fob has a transmitter that is used whenever a key is pressed, plus whenever the fob recognizes a vehicle id that has been broadcast by a nearby car transmitter. So for SKS to function, the fob has to recognize the car, and then the car has to recognize the fob.

    The problem with used SKS fobs is that they have already been programmed with the vehicle id of a single car. A never-registered fob can be registered with the chicken dance or Techstream. In order to register a used fob, it is necessary to do a "seed reset" with Techstream (or the locksmith equivalent) in order to reset the registered fob count to zero. Techstream requires a unique password to perform the seed reset. Only techstream users with a "Security Professional" account have access to the password lookup... plus this guy in Lithuania who sells passwords...
     
    Scallywag likes this.
  12. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    83,704
    36,622
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    the answer is 'yes', the real question is 'how'?
     
  13. Scallywag

    Scallywag Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    107
    21
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thank you for the very in-depth post. Fascinating.
     
  14. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    13,986
    6,669
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    So does that mean if you do a seed reset on 2 cars, you can program the same fob to be on both cars?
     
  15. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,288
    895
    68
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Interesting question. You'd certainly only get proximity functions with the last car registered. But the remote buttons might work with both cars. There might be problems with the usage count getting too far out of sync between the two cars.

    The transponder is registered with the short chicken dance or with the "Immobilizer" dialog in Techstream. The SKS functions are set up with the long chicken dance or the "Smart Key" dialog. A seed reset requires a password in the "Smart Key" dialog.
     
Loading...